We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scallops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Machipongo Clam Shack

The Great Machipongo Clam Shack
6468 Lankford Highway, Route 13, Nassawadox, VA 23413
757 442-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Nassawadox
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I specially drove from our campground to eat at this restaurant twice during our stay in the area. It really has excellent seafood. The first time we shared the Macho Clam Shack Platter and the scallops were cooked to perfection. So often they can be rubbery. The second time we enjoyed sampler baskets of clam strips - lightly coated and lightly fried with slaw on the side. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. There is a shop area with large coolers and freezers - I bought chowder and crab meat and took it back to camp. We will be back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yes, fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Wow! This little restaurant really surprised us. Home made chowders. The clam chowder had a clear broth with plenty of clams, was very good. My husband and I both had their fried oysters. They were caught locally. They were really great! We will definitely stop here on our way back home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a sampler basket of scallops, oysters and clam strips. The price was reasonable and the food was very good - some of the best scallops I've ever had.

The owner was most gracious and friendly. I would stop there again for sure. Thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Seafood & Hush Puppies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped at the Great Machipongo Clam Shack today on our way home from NC to NJ and had a very good lunch - sampler basket and shrimp/sweet potato fries basket and she-crab soup. All of this came with wonderful hush puppies. We've been eating fresh seafood on the Outer Banks for over 25 years and this restaurant really knows how to cook fresh seafood well! The only minor comment my husband made was that there were a few tiny pieces of crab shell in the soup, but other than that...out of this world flavor. In addition, the employees of the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Food was reasonably priced too. I recommend this restaurant as a must-stop if you are traveling on Rt 13 past the area of Nassawadox, VA.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On my trek up the Eastern Shore I stopped at the Great Machipongo Clam Shack Restaurant. Mom and Pop operated, just an average looking restaurant on a lonely highway. The service was great and the seafood even better. If you want a moderate priced restaurant with good food, this is great. No bells or whistles, but I didn't care. The best food is usually where the locals eat. I wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Machipongo Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Great Machipongo Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Machipongo Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.