We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MacArthur Inn to your Saves list
MacArthur Inn
117 MacArthur Lane, Narrows, VA 24124   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Narrows B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group of 3 couples was in the excursion area ringing in the 2013 New Year and we had the best time! Mr. Neeley was wonderfully friendly and helpful throughout our 3 night stay. He, along with housekeeping staff, asked multiple times what, if anything, we needed each day. We enjoyed breakfast at Blue Moon twice and ate phenomenally good food until we were stuffed blind - and the price was crazy reasonable! When we inquired about hiking trails, we got not only good directions, but also Mr. Neeley led us out there! The Inn, the owner, and the town all had a lot of character - clean, old, and real - rather than the cookie-cutter nature of the large chains. We'd come back in a heartbeat and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

After reading the positive reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at the MacArthur Inn after our trip to the New River Gorge. We were excited to stay at the historic inn and to visit thr nearby cascades the following day. The room was lacking in simple amenities such as kleenex, usable pillows(they were flat as a pancake), cups and hand towels. In the morning we realized there was not any hot water in our room. We tried to contact the front desk but no one was there. We called the number listed on the note and watched the front desk phone ring in front of us. We then realized we were the only people in the building and decided it was best to just get on with our day. This was at 9am on a Sunday. I don't feel that is an unreasonable time to expect someone from the inn to be available. Maybe the innkeeper was out of town-we were checked in by his friend upon our arrival around 9pm.
The poor service combined with the lack of amenities that make a place comfortable to stay, we will not be returning to inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We had to make a last minute trip because of a family emergency. Almost stayed 20 minutes away but saw a review that caught my eye for here. Thank goodness. This is a gem with character! We won't stay anywhere else. In fact we'll be back this weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A great property with fascinating history and down-home hospitality. Allen Neely is a terrific host, and Patty and the staff are wonderful. Make sure you head across the street to the Blue Moon Cafe for the "Man Biscuit" and some exceptional coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 or 32 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have stayed there on three different occasions since the opening. MY STAY HAS ALWAYS BEEN ENJOYABLE. Thanks to Allen and his staff. PS The food was great!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I spent New Years Eve at the Inn and attended the wedding. The MacArthur Inn is a beautiful historical building in a small mountain town. The owner/operator, Allen Neely, was gracious and friendly with the guests and encouraged everyone to have a great time, which we did! The atmosphere of the common areas speak warmth, comfort, and charm. I will be going back and taking family with me.

Room Tip: There are different sized rooms, upstairs and downstairs. Rates are extremely reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent the weekend at the MacArthur Inn. We were there for a wedding however I have stayed there twice before for some serious Trout and Muskie fishing. The Hotel is located in an outdoor enthusiast’s ideal area featuring fishing, rafting, canoeing, hiking, snow skiing and hunting to list a few choices. While each room is uniquely different, our party needing six rooms, found all the accommodations clean and comfortable. Tired of cookie cutter rooms like the Holiday Inn then this is the place complete with antiques and four poster beds! Breakfast was abundant, cooked to order and quite delicious. The staff was friendly and very attentive to our needs, unbelievably so. The original preacher suddenly was unable to show at the last minute for an 8 pm ceremony. The Proprietor contacted another preacher and had a replacement for us in 1 hour! Now that’s service! If you are in the area of Narrows, this is the best place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell the staf what accomodations you need to be comfortable and they will match you to a room that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacArthur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Inn

Address: 117 MacArthur Lane, Narrows, VA 24124
Location: United States > Virginia > Narrows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Narrows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your MacArthur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacArthur Inn Narrows, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.