We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like one Big Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Inn

Save Saved
You added MacArthur Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacArthur Inn
117 MacArthur Lane, Narrows, VA 24124   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Narrows B&B and Inns
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Like one Big Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at the MacArthur Inn while waiting to close on the house I had purchased. When I first arrived in Narrows, I didn' t know anybody. By the time I left I had friends I continue to go back and visit. The owner of the Inn is very accommodating and will bend over backwards to meet the needs of the guests. I loved the way the common areas beg for staff and guests to socialize. i looked forward to sitting out on the big porch in the rocking chairs at night, watching the goings on of the small town. It's like being a big family. The Blue Moon across the street (also owned by same mgmt as the Inn) serves the best sausage gravy and biscuits I've ever had. Plus the girl who runs it, Paige, is both adorable and personable. Stay at the MacArthur Inn if you want to feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bassett va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I enjoyed socializing on the big front porch with former classmates, enjoyed Allen's homemade biscuits at the Blue Moon and loved my room #4. I enjoyed socializing and talking with Allens older brothers Jimbo and Tom. The staff was very helpful and also meet and chatted with Allen's cute daughter Patti. I plan to spend another weekend there in Sept with my classmates from 1963. Such a fun nostalgic weekend!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Had a wounderfull stay,great service, Next time in town I will stop in for the Ribs.
Arnold Vass -Newport News Va.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The owner and staff was wonerful. Every request was met with a smiling face. The breakfast was the BEST! There were 12 in our group who stayed here and not one of them had a complaint.
We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. None are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Basic accomodations with good breadkfast and friendly and accomadating staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Huge disappointment! Disgusting filthy room; bed sagging & falling apart; pillows flat, stained & matted; multiple types of bugs in bathroom; tub stained & moldy; walls crumbling; large pieces of floor tile missing; foul smell inside dresser drawers; nobody on staff available 10pm to 9am; phone calls to front desk went unanswered; manager Jeremy unfriendly & completely unwilling to correct problems; owner Allen acted sympathetic (said there would be no charge) then authorized charge anyway two days later; $90+ for one night; advertised as Bed & Breakfast, but no signs stating hours for breakfast or that it is served at diner across the street; housekeeping claimed she didn't work there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you have to be the rudest guest we have ever had. we have never had one bad thing said about room 7 untill you came along and the people that went into room 7 right behind you loved it and were glad you left so they could have it. needless to say the people that were here and watched your behavior were shocked and found your actions amusing. what i cant understand is if you had such a problem with the room is why did you continue to stay? in this line of work we see people do this all the time. they stay untill time for checkout and then come up with all kinds of crazy problems, hopeing to get a free night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

No towels, no hangers, broken toilets, dirty, not cleaned after three days, checked out early, no attendents

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you just can not please some people. you never one time put the maid sign outside your door and when someone came to you and asked if you wanted it cleaned you told them no, i was there i heared them ask you. then four hours latter you called me at home being very rude and demanding i come clean your toilet at ten at night. it is not our fault that you can not work a made sign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MacArthur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Inn

Address: 117 MacArthur Lane, Narrows, VA 24124
Location: United States > Virginia > Narrows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Narrows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your MacArthur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacArthur Inn Narrows, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.