We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bookmark
You added MacArthur Inn to your Saves list
MacArthur Inn
117 MacArthur Lane, Narrows, VA 24124   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Narrows B&B and Inns
North East, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly and basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Basic accomodations with good breadkfast and friendly and accomadating staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Huge disappointment! Disgusting filthy room; bed sagging & falling apart; pillows flat, stained & matted; multiple types of bugs in bathroom; tub stained & moldy; walls crumbling; large pieces of floor tile missing; foul smell inside dresser drawers; nobody on staff available 10pm to 9am; phone calls to front desk went unanswered; manager Jeremy unfriendly & completely unwilling to correct problems; owner Allen acted sympathetic (said there would be no charge) then authorized charge anyway two days later; $90+ for one night; advertised as Bed & Breakfast, but no signs stating hours for breakfast or that it is served at diner across the street; housekeeping claimed she didn't work there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you have to be the rudest guest we have ever had. we have never had one bad thing said about room 7 untill you came along and the people that went into room 7 right behind you loved it and were glad you left so they could have it. needless to say the people that were here and watched your behavior were shocked and found your actions amusing. what i cant understand is if you had such a problem with the room is why did you continue to stay? in this line of work we see people do this all the time. they stay untill time for checkout and then come up with all kinds of crazy problems, hopeing to get a free night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

No towels, no hangers, broken toilets, dirty, not cleaned after three days, checked out early, no attendents

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you just can not please some people. you never one time put the maid sign outside your door and when someone came to you and asked if you wanted it cleaned you told them no, i was there i heared them ask you. then four hours latter you called me at home being very rude and demanding i come clean your toilet at ten at night. it is not our fault that you can not work a made sign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice place. Love the way you feel like you took a step back in time. A very nice place for our wedding. Staff was helpful and the rooms clean. There dining hall was a great place for our receptinon and The Blue Moon Cafe across the street hosted our party after. Great deal for all that was included, would recomend to anyone for any occasion.

Room Tip: Just call
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a beautiful historic inn nestled in the center of the quaint little town of Narrows, Virginia. Anyone looking for a peaceful get-a-way would love this inn. I found this inn by chance and was thoroughly impressed. The room was spotlessly clean, charming and most of all, offered me a peaceful night's rest. I was also pleasantly surprised by the BBQ, music and carriage rides that the inn provided on the night I stayed. The carriage and horses were gorgeous and this would be a lovely venue for a wedding or anniversary! The breakfast was a country feast consisting of made to order eggs, gravy, biscuits, apples, jams, jellies and homemade apple butter. I would definitely recommend the MacArthur Inn to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life or visiting Giles County.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacArthur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Inn

Address: 117 MacArthur Lane, Narrows, VA 24124
Location: United States > Virginia > Narrows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Narrows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your MacArthur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacArthur Inn Narrows, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.