We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balance time vs. price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington's Mount Vernon

George Washington's Mount Vernon
3200 George Washington Parkway, Mount Vernon, VA 22121
703-780-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Balance time vs. price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only had 3 days in the DC area to see all we could see. Looking back, I wish we hadn't spent the time and money to go to Mount Vernon. Don't get me wrong. It was beautiful, educational, with plenty to do and see. We had budgeted the entire morning to this one attraction. (30-45 drive followed by 2-2.5 hrs. sightseeing and then eat in the car on our way back to DC) We ended up spending more time than planned, which meant we had to sacrifice something else on our super long list on DC attractions. And, pay a hefty sum to eat at the food court on site.
Since there is so many free or low cost things to do, I think this should be left for a longer trip or maybe the second time visiting. I would suggest travelers give a full 3-5 hours at Mount Vernon if you are going to pay the ticket entry.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you were able to visit, even if it left you with less time to see other DC sites. I agree with you that visitors should allow 3 hours minimum to tour the estate, but you could really spend the whole day. We know there is a lot to see in the area, and we're happy that you chose to spend your morning with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    329
    93
    30
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit on President's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went to this president's home few times. If you want to see action and reenactment, come on President's day, and admission is free on that day. There are museums, films, the tomb, and of course the main house for touring. It maybe a bit boring for kids not into history, otherwise, they can always roll on the back lawn of our first president's home. Lots of kids do that, sometimes, adults too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! While we are happy to offer free admission in honor of George Washington's birthday, I would encourage you to visit again when the crowds are smaller. Even if visitors are not into history we hope we provide enough diverse, interactive exhibits and activities that they will be interested, entertained, and maybe even learn something!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
230 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“A Musr See While In Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Be prepared to allow a full day to tour this place because of the mass property and things to view. Only spent three hours here as we were busy touring other parts of Washington DC earlier in the day, What we did see gave us a sense what Washington was all about. For example, we viewed the film, saw the Mansion than walked some of the grounds. Besides being President, he appeared to be both a complex man plus well connected after being President. This is also one of those sites in Washington DC that people from around the world want to check out for themselves. Have a well stocked gift shop and Educational Centre to learn more about him. Highly recommended for touring purposes!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for spending your day with us! So happy to hear that your visit gave you a better understanding and appreciation of George Washington. We appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A great piece of preserved history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The grounds are immaculately kept and provide a great informational perspective of Washington's life and legacy. The house tour was a bit rushed; not allowing for much time to really take in the rooms, but instead gave more of a abbreviated view. The indoor historical overview was very well put together and allowed for a self-paced opportunity to discover and learn more. As a retired military member, I was rather turned off that the discounts are only for active duty.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our last visit to Mt. Vernon was 12 years ago. A lot has changed! There is now a museum and hands on education center for the children. The tour provided by the Mount Vernon Ladies Association is incomparable. The grounds and other buildings, including Washington's tomb, are without peer. The work and effort that has gone into restoring and maintaining these landmarks are amazing. The staff is so helpful and kind. There are crafts projects for the 3-12 year group in the education center. There are numerous food choices in the food court including a marvelous deli where they make ingenious salads and wraps that are delicious and of course pizza and grill items in the other portion of this area.

We will visit again. This is a very lovely venue!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington's Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.