We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balance time vs. price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington's Mount Vernon

George Washington's Mount Vernon
3200 George Washington Parkway, Mount Vernon, VA 22121
703-780-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Specialty Museums, Educational Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Balance time vs. price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only had 3 days in the DC area to see all we could see. Looking back, I wish we hadn't spent the time and money to go to Mount Vernon. Don't get me wrong. It was beautiful, educational, with plenty to do and see. We had budgeted the entire morning to this one attraction. (30-45 drive followed by 2-2.5 hrs. sightseeing and then eat in the car on our way back to DC) We ended up spending more time than planned, which meant we had to sacrifice something else on our super long list on DC attractions. And, pay a hefty sum to eat at the food court on site.
Since there is so many free or low cost things to do, I think this should be left for a longer trip or maybe the second time visiting. I would suggest travelers give a full 3-5 hours at Mount Vernon if you are going to pay the ticket entry.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you were able to visit, even if it left you with less time to see other DC sites. I agree with you that visitors should allow 3 hours minimum to tour the estate, but you could really spend the whole day. We know there is a lot to see in the area, and we're happy that you chose to spend your morning with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    245
    67
    26
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit on President's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went to this president's home few times. If you want to see action and reenactment, come on President's day, and admission is free on that day. There are museums, films, the tomb, and of course the main house for touring. It maybe a bit boring for kids not into history, otherwise, they can always roll on the back lawn of our first president's home. Lots of kids do that, sometimes, adults too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! While we are happy to offer free admission in honor of George Washington's birthday, I would encourage you to visit again when the crowds are smaller. Even if visitors are not into history we hope we provide enough diverse, interactive exhibits and activities that they will be interested, entertained, and maybe even learn something!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
229 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“A Musr See While In Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Be prepared to allow a full day to tour this place because of the mass property and things to view. Only spent three hours here as we were busy touring other parts of Washington DC earlier in the day, What we did see gave us a sense what Washington was all about. For example, we viewed the film, saw the Mansion than walked some of the grounds. Besides being President, he appeared to be both a complex man plus well connected after being President. This is also one of those sites in Washington DC that people from around the world want to check out for themselves. Have a well stocked gift shop and Educational Centre to learn more about him. Highly recommended for touring purposes!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for spending your day with us! So happy to hear that your visit gave you a better understanding and appreciation of George Washington. We appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic History on Gorgeous Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Mount Vernon was supposedly the thing not nearly enough people see when they visit DC, so as a history teacher I had to make sure we made the short trip into Virginia on our recent family vacation to the nation's capital.

I was so impressed.

First of all, as you may have heard, the Mount Vernon estate is beautiful. Even if every single building on the grounds were closed and all there was to do was stroll around, it would be worth the trip. Make sure you build in some extra time to see the gardens, pastures, hills, wharf/waterfront, woods, everything.

What's more, George Washington's estate has been remarkably preserved. Remarkably. There are numerous free tours with different themes offered throughout the day, there are guides and other helpful people around the estate in period costume, and all of them know an immense amount about the Washingtons, their lives, their era, the grounds, the buildings, everything.

For me, the history teacher, the really breathtaking thing was how much of the estate is authentic. These were George's actual wood floors, the harpsichord his step granddaughter played, the key to the Bastille given to him by the Marquis de Lafayette, the chair in which he wrote letters, the bed in which he passed. Nothing reminds you how young the United States really is than looking at the chair in which your first President sat while penning hundreds of letters. It is still covered with its original leather. I was blown away.

Mount Vernon also offeres a fantastic education center and museum, including several likenesses of George Washington (at different life stages) that took an immense amount of work and research to produce. You will learn (and be moved) without being buried in minutia. There is also a clean food court with good variety (very handy since you may be coming from DC) and a gift shop that offers some very nice products. Sadly we missed out on the George Washington rye by just a few days - it sells out fast.

If you're vacationing in DC, I highly encourage the (short) trip to Mount Vernon. Make sure you budget some time for it; you will be sorry if you have to leave too soon.

(One additional note - the manor house itself is in original condition, which means no wheelchair access to the upper floor(s).)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. It means a lot. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite DC-area attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I love Mt. Vernon! It is a fun place to go for people of all ages!

First, I recommend booking your tickets ahead of time as lines to obtain tickets the day of could be very long. Booking ahead of time is the way to go. The tours of the mansion are great!

There are other fun things to see here besides the mansion. There are stables, some animals, a slavery graveyard, and Washington's tomb area. The gift shops here are also amazing!

The food court area here is very busy. It wasn't a bad experience...just busy and overpriced.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It sounds like you got to see a lot of the estate. I completely agree that booking your tour online ahead of time is a must. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington's Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.