We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic History on Gorgeous Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington's Mount Vernon

George Washington's Mount Vernon
3200 George Washington Parkway, Mount Vernon, VA 22121
703-780-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic History on Gorgeous Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Mount Vernon was supposedly the thing not nearly enough people see when they visit DC, so as a history teacher I had to make sure we made the short trip into Virginia on our recent family vacation to the nation's capital.

I was so impressed.

First of all, as you may have heard, the Mount Vernon estate is beautiful. Even if every single building on the grounds were closed and all there was to do was stroll around, it would be worth the trip. Make sure you build in some extra time to see the gardens, pastures, hills, wharf/waterfront, woods, everything.

What's more, George Washington's estate has been remarkably preserved. Remarkably. There are numerous free tours with different themes offered throughout the day, there are guides and other helpful people around the estate in period costume, and all of them know an immense amount about the Washingtons, their lives, their era, the grounds, the buildings, everything.

For me, the history teacher, the really breathtaking thing was how much of the estate is authentic. These were George's actual wood floors, the harpsichord his step granddaughter played, the key to the Bastille given to him by the Marquis de Lafayette, the chair in which he wrote letters, the bed in which he passed. Nothing reminds you how young the United States really is than looking at the chair in which your first President sat while penning hundreds of letters. It is still covered with its original leather. I was blown away.

Mount Vernon also offeres a fantastic education center and museum, including several likenesses of George Washington (at different life stages) that took an immense amount of work and research to produce. You will learn (and be moved) without being buried in minutia. There is also a clean food court with good variety (very handy since you may be coming from DC) and a gift shop that offers some very nice products. Sadly we missed out on the George Washington rye by just a few days - it sells out fast.

If you're vacationing in DC, I highly encourage the (short) trip to Mount Vernon. Make sure you budget some time for it; you will be sorry if you have to leave too soon.

(One additional note - the manor house itself is in original condition, which means no wheelchair access to the upper floor(s).)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. It means a lot. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    330
    95
    30
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite DC-area attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I love Mt. Vernon! It is a fun place to go for people of all ages!

First, I recommend booking your tickets ahead of time as lines to obtain tickets the day of could be very long. Booking ahead of time is the way to go. The tours of the mansion are great!

There are other fun things to see here besides the mansion. There are stables, some animals, a slavery graveyard, and Washington's tomb area. The gift shops here are also amazing!

The food court area here is very busy. It wasn't a bad experience...just busy and overpriced.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It sounds like you got to see a lot of the estate. I completely agree that booking your tour online ahead of time is a must. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We drove from Baltimore to Mount Vernon before heading to DC, early morning was great as the day got warm. The history of Mount Vernon video was informative. The mansion was awesome and to walk around the grounds was amazing and beautiful. The view from the back of the mansion of the Potomac was breathtaking.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your visit and review. The views of the Potomac are definitely a highlight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historic Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a fantastic history experience seeing the mansion where George Washington lived and just imagining Lafayette and Washington sitting by the fireplace playing cards. This is a large estate so be prepared to walk quite a bit especially if you're going to take the boat tour down by the Potomac River. It's way down the hill and way back up again for the mansion tour. Unless you just want a boat ride, I'd skip that part as the view from the mansion is breathtaking and the boat doesn't get very close at all to mansion. I especially loved all the out buildings with people dressed in period attire doing gardening and blacksmith work. It's quite humbling standing next to George and Martha Washington's tomb. Well worth a day trip if you're in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your visit. Glad you enjoyed the outbuildings and our character and historical interpreters. We appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots to see, kids were engaged.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I wanted to go here because of National Treasure Book of Secrets. While waiting for the house tour we walked around to all the other buildings and read the boards aloud for our children. The foreign people visiting were following us around because I think it made it easier for them to have someone else reading the boards... Lol We didn't mind. The house tour was great. There was a food court by the store. The store itself was great!! Lots of everything for everyone. We spent quite a bit of money in there, prices were surprisingly reasonable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your visit and review! I hope you were able to go on our National Treasure Tour while you were here. Glad you found everything enjoyable and reasonably priced!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington's Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.