We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington's Mount Vernon

George Washington's Mount Vernon
3200 George Washington Parkway, Mount Vernon, VA 22121
703-780-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our visit to Mount Vernon. The staff were very helpful at the mansion and gave us a good feel how things were back in the day. Also enjoyed walking the entire estate as it was very beautiful. Just wish we had more time to see it all.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    330
    95
    30
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gristmill & Distillery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Because Mt. Vernon takes a long time to visit, we did only the Gristmill & Distillery on this trip. It was wonderful. It was fun to compare the Whiskey making of America, to what we had seen in Ireland. george was a very good business guy! He was a genius! The only thing is that they only make a limited amount so you have to be on a waiting list when the new batch is made. I would like to have had a taste test ! It was a beautiful property. The guides were very knowledgeable. It only took about 1 full hour to tour both. I highly reccomend you going

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I think we could use this man today!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had never visited the home of George Washington, so with my mother in tow we stopped in on our travels. The AAA book stated that we should allow at least 1 hour for Mount Vernon. With that knowledge we decided that we would see it in the morning and visit something else in the afternoon. The guide book should have said allow at least 3 hours! When my mother visited 20 years ago, there was only the house tour but now there is soooo much more to see. There are several little movies, a great museum, the house tour, a garden and landscape tour, and much more. We enjoyed the peanut and chestnut soup at the Inn's restaurant. We could have stayed longer but we need to more on. George Washington was a fascinating man!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We got there early in the morning. Took the tour of the house. Although they move through at a faster pace, it was fine. We explored the grounds, had lunch at the cafeteria. Food was good, a little spendy. We really enjoyed the museum the most. It is a must do. My 9 and 12 yr olds absorbed everything. The movies were great! Don't miss the 1776 movie as that is a really cool experience especially for kids!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It was as good as my friends told me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Why is it only old geezers like me appreciate history? This is so much more than presidential false teeth. Mount Vernon was saved by a ladies club just before the Civil War. In the bloodiest conflict the USA has ever faced, both sides respected the estate. This is an education on how the wealthy lived. This is a fair view on what slaves endured, were treated as chattel, and even bettered their sad lot in life. This is education on the lot of Lady Washington and perhaps many well off colonial women. this place will not disappoint if you ask the re-enactors smart questions, and maybe a little research on your part and get your personal questions and ideas addressed by the on site historians. Wish I weren't 60, there were life lessons here just waiting to be learned. Plenty of walking, if you are active, but there is a bus for feeble legs, or young ones. If you like Colonial Williamsburg, this is the same but different history. I did not get the tour phone, I can't comment if it was worth the $.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington's Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.