We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Mount Jackson

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Mount Jackson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Mount Jackson
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Conicville Boulevard, I-81 Exit 273, Mount Jackson, VA 22842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mount Jackson
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
18
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Never stayed at a road side motel before, wasn't too bad; cheap, clean, had a frig and microwave. Would stay again if needed .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Convenient, good price and pleasant one night stay. Check in was easy & efficient.
In spite of being right on I-81, external noises were not an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Manager19482, General Manager at Super 8 Mount Jackson, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make sure that each guest enjoys their experience while at the Super 8 Mt. Jacskon. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed at The Plaza in New York City and the Fairmount Hotel in San Francisco and this Super 8 isn't them. But, it doesn't try to be. It tries to offer a clean, hospitable and budget location convenient to many Shenandoah Valley, VA attractions.....it succeeds admirably. Stayed overnight September 4-5, to do some hiking in Shenandoah National Park and local shopping and sightseeing. My room was clean and well stocked with the usual amenities (fresh towels, soaps, shampoo, coffee maker, iron, etc) plus a microwave oven and small fridge. Looking behind doors and under table & desk, revealed no unpleasant surprises. Shower & tub was a one-piece vinyl (?) and clean without chips. Not having inside corridors (room doors open to outside, covered walkway) is not a problem for me and the pool looked inviting. I requested a smoking room and did not find an ashtray in the room. The night desk clerk went out of his way to find one. Cable TV reception was not A+ but this may be a provider, rather than motel, problem. No noises disturbed me in my room even being close to Interstate 81 which makes this location easy to find. If you are going only to visit Shenandoah National Park there are properties closer; it is about a half-hour drive to the park. The free breakfast choices were juices, coffee, milk, cereals, English muffins, and bagels. However, a Denny's restaurant is attached to the property (open 24 hours) and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality, taste, and prices there. The morning desk clerk gave me excellent directions to a nearby destination. Overall, for what it offered and the price (I got a discount through my employer and there are AAA & AARP discounts available), I would recommend this one and stay at another of their locations if convenient for my needs.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper level are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Manager19482, General Manager at Super 8 Mount Jackson, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Super 8 Mt. Jackson. Our goal is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to say so. Thank you for the kind words and hope you will continue to choose the Super 8 Mt. Jackson during your future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked two nights at this hotel, planning to bicycle in the area. As weather is always a concern, we checked the Super8 website for their Cancellation Policy -- which said we could cancel up to 6PM "day of" and avoid a fee. We biked the first day, but weather forecast for the next several days was rain; so we called at 4PM to tell them we were cancelling that night and next. The clerk advised me there was a $50 fee for late cancellation -- less than 24 hours' notice. When I challenged that (based on the website info) he said (a) normally, it isn't a policy they had been enforcing, but the new manager was doing so, and (b) they were Independently-owned and their policy was 24 hours notice -- they couldn't be "responsible" for what Super8 posted on their website!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Manager19482, General Manager at Super 8 Mount Jackson, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Super 8 Mt. Jackson. I apologize for any misleading information concerning the cancellation policy, and I hope you found it pleasing that you were not charged the cancellation fee. We strive to make each guests stay a satisfying one. I hope that you continue to choose the Super 8 Mt. Jackson for your hotel choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Upon arrival I was giving a key to a room that wouldn't open. After going back to the office repeatedly I was finally given another room.Upon opening the door the smell hit me. I requested a smoking room, but that was not what I smelled. It was urine and mold. I owned a cleaning company for 18 yrs but it didn't take a professional to instantly see it was filthy. The carpet hadn't been cleaned in years.The chairs had multiple stains, hence the urine.There were cob webs and spider webs WITH spiders, in every corner, The TV had snow on every channel. Only two out of 12 buttons on the microwave worked. It took 3 hrs for the mini frig to chill a soda. The coffee pot had what looked like dried boogers in the slots where you pour the water. And upon checking the mattress there was bug droppings around the headboard and the alarm clock didn't work. After traveling for 16 hrs. I just gave up and took a shower where upon I found hair and crusty fixtures. The bottom of the shower had so much old soap residue it was like standing in slick slim. As I was getting dressed a man opened the door to my room. He had been giving the same room with a working key. After I called the front desk they told me my key was no longer good and I needed a new one. When they brought the new key they informed me the man was a regular and I was in HIS room and that I had scared HIM when I yelled. The only redeeming factor to this nightmare was the front desk girl apologized for not updating my room information. This is a disgustingly filthy motel. Don't waste your money or your time. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Manager19482, General Manager at Super 8 Mount Jackson, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I would like to start by thanking you for your stay at the Super 8 Mt. Jackson. I apologize the hotel did not meet your needs. I want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us, and I do hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Mount Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mount Jackson

Address: 250 Conicville Boulevard, I-81 Exit 273, Mount Jackson, VA 22842
Location: United States > Virginia > Mount Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mount Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mount Jackson 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Mount Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Mount Jackson Hotel Mount Jackson
Super Eight Mount Jackson
Mount Jackson Super Eight
Mount Jackson Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Mount Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.