We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chip Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Route 11 Potato Chip Factory

Route 11 Potato Chip Factory
11 Edwards Way, Mount Jackson, VA 22842
540-477-9664
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chip Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had picked up a brochure for this chip factory a year ago but the timing was not right anytime we went past. They open at 9:00til 5:00p.m. We were always past there by 9:00. We were the first to arrive and the ladies were so friendly and informative. They gave us a tour and answered questions and they brought out all the samples. We tasted and bought and were along our way. It's a great place to stop for all age groups and restrooms are available. They offer school tours also. They have picnic tables inside to sit and have a packed lunch if you enjoy that. The personnel were so friendly...Great job ladies.......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place when they are frying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Definitely more fun when they are cooking the chips. My 12 and 10 year old boys loved every moment. Fav had to be when after the mini-tour on how the BBQ Chips were made, the employee replaced two bags in the ten pack we were purchasing with two fresh from the line (still warm). Friendly people and fun stop. Don't miss Meem's Bottom covered bridge down the street.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quick little stretch your legs visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

See a local potato chip manufacturer up close (esp if they are frying). Free samples but I bet you will walk out with at least a bag! The guide on the little tour was very nice and answered questions as if she had all day with you. Very nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was great break in the trip down Rt 11, stopping by and watching and hearing how potato chips are made and see the many different flavors. They lady in retail shop told us about covered bridges along our route, great sites and the town on Mount Jackson was wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Fun Stop - FRESH CHIPS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Note - we LOVE factory tours. There are not many to be found in the DC metro area where we live, and Route 11 has been on the list of factories I want to see for quite some time because of its close proximity (2 hours from DC).

It is a FUN PLACE! The woman working in the retail shop was very friendly and took time to explain the process of making chips to us and point out to us what we were seeing through the big windows. She answered any questions we had, too. You can stand and watch the chip making as long as you like - you can see the potatoes falling into the big fryer, the conveyor belt, the quality control guys checking for "baddies", the seasoning guys pouring on the flavor of the day, and the packing machine where carefully weighed out bits get put into bags and sealed. We got to taste some warm chips right off the line - yum!

We had a hard time finding this place - no signage that we could find and the address didn't work in our GPS either. We stopped and asked a local who was happy to point us in the right direction. The phone number listed also didn't work from DC - it seems to be a regional 800 number and cannot be accessed from our area? So we took a chance that they would be making chips and drove out - good gamble! It is minutes away from Luray Caverns, which was our next stop.

Fun day trip. Would be good for kids. The set up is a bit like watching the donut making at Krispy Kreme, only you see more steps here. It is nice that it is a small business - the owner was walking around and very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 11 Potato Chip Factory also viewed

 

Been to Route 11 Potato Chip Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 11 Potato Chip Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.