We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine, good people, good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates

Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates
6011 East Timber Ridge Road, Mount Crawford, VA 22841
+1 540-234-0505
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Tours, Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CrossKeys Vineyards is a beautiful 125 acre estate with 25 acres of vineyards. This small batch, family run winery currently produces around 4,000 cases of 11 different wines per year that are estate grown, produced, and bottled. With the first vines planted in 2001 and our first harvest in 2006, the winery opened its doors in May of 2008. In late 2012, the CrossKeys Bistro, our onsite restaurant, was established. In addition CrossKeys hosts many events, both public and private, and of course lots of weddings.
Lanham, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good wine, good people, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed the tour and tasting at Cross Keys Vineyard and will return. We used our groupon voucher with no problem, which included the tour, cheese plate, wine glasses for two. The tasting was extra. The Joy White wine was our favorite and the Chardonnay was next. The cheese plate was just enough. We found the staff very warm and they made you feel welcomed. They offer a variety of sandwiches which looked very appetizing. We were not disappointed with our visit and hope you will enjoy as much as we did.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. We would love to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    7
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Felt very unwelcome!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The winery appeared very busy however there was a staff shortage. It took forever to get our tasting going and the employee spent more time socializing with what appeared to be a regular guest. We learned nothing about the wine or winery. It appeared there were too many other things happening than to deal with people wanting to taste wine. The location is beautiful and the wines were good, but we had no interest in buying we couldn't wait to get out of there!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you felt unwelcome at the vineyard. We strive to never ever let that happen. If you could provide us with some more information on when you visited so that we can analyze the problem and do our best to fix it, we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you so much for your feedback and we sincerely apologize that this happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chataue on top of the hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great wine, nice views, and lunch available on their large shaded patio. This place also has a large area available for weddings and has entertainment for special events. For example they hosted a BBQ for 4th of July that cost only $15 per person.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit. Please come back to see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful steetin & tasting room / varanda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While staying at Massanutten Resort, my wife and I visited nearby Cross Keys Vineyards one afternoon for a tasting. The tasting was $6.00 each for 8 wines and we got to keep nice souvenir glasses. They were not too crowded on a Saturday afternoon shortly before closing, although a wedding party was just arriving. The folks conducting the tastings were both knowledgeable and friendly. My wife and I both liked their 2011 (award winning) Chardonnay. My wife's favorite was their 2011 "Joy Red". I liked their 2011 Pinot Noir best. We each bought a glass of our favorite wine plus some crackers, went outside and enjoyed the great ambiance of their large veranda. The vineyards were beautiful stretching over the surrounding gently rolling hills and the apparent adjacent owners' large home was magnificent. It was a very pleasurable visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to CrossKeys Vineyards. There is nothing better than unwinding on the patio and looking at the mountains. We greatly appreciate your kind words and hope that you come to visit us again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You won't find a better view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The view from the winery was amazing and the tasting room and patio are beautiful. The wine was good. I've had better in the area. There was a fee for the tasting, $5 to taste whites and $7 to taste reds. We ordered food, and it was very good. We had the naan pizza and the cheese platter. For the price, the cheese platter was large.....perfect for sharing with a partner or few friends. A glass was $6 or $7 so it is worth buying a bottle instead. The only downside was the tasting room experience. Though the girl pouring was very knowledgeable and friendly, the experience felt rushed. There were about 7 employees behind the counter, but she was the only one pouring for 3 groups of people, and it felt like she was rushing from one group to the next. Luckily, the facility is so beautiful you can almost overlook anything.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We also appreciate your feedback about our staff. We have thoroughly addressed the issue and hope that we have fixed it. We would love for you to come back and give our tasting room another chance. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates also viewed

Been to Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Keys Vineyards and Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.