We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of the jungle/savanna in Greater Richmond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Richmond Zoo

Metro Richmond Zoo
8300 Beaver Bridge Road, Moseley, VA 23120
+1 804-739-5666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Moseley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Zoo opened to the public on April 22, 1995. Over the years, the Metro Richmond Zoo has grown to 120 acres. The Zoo is now home to over 2,000 animals, representing 180 different species from around the world.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of the jungle/savanna in Greater Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I live near the zoo and decided to visit just to see the cheetah kits. I found so much more and enjoyed every single minute of it. No heavy-handed messages of extinction, no vastly unwalkable spaces. This zoo harkens back to the small local zoos of the 50s--only the animals are much better treated! I loved it, bought a season pass and have been their every week since early Spring. Great for kids--really--especially the little ones. Can't wait to have some grandchildren so I can take them there!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    19
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New baby animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This zoo just gets better and better each year. Recently a giraffe was born in front of the public and a few months ago 4 cheetahs were born. The monkeys are always so much fun to watch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This zoo is worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It isn't Washington, the Bronx, or Philadelphia, but it is well designed, and there are plenty of animals to see and interact with. My adult son and I went yesterday, and there were lots of families enjoying it, We decided that it was just the right size to be "doable " with kids without over-tiring them - or yourself. We did the sky lift and the tram and found the prices to be reasonable for the experience we had. The concessions are just slightly higher than the "outside" venues...much better than the big amusement parks or the movies. In other words, you won't be wiped out if you take your kids, and they want to munch. It is well maintained, and the animals seem to be well cared for. You can feed many of the animals with food you purchase at admissions. Hand sanitizer is near every feeding area! There is a new baby giraffe, and there are new little cheetahs, too! I found the staff members to be friendly, highly efficient, and helpful. I do agree that it would be a good idea to replace the glass that allows you to peek in the enclosures. One word of advice: pay for the extras at admission. It will save you time and angst if the token machines aren't working properly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is the most delightful little zoo. Privately owned but what a great place. Lots of animals, very well laid out. You can feed the giraffes and they come up close enough that you can actually touch one. Lots of monkeys, lemurs, penguins and more.. A really, really nice place. We will definitely be returning for another visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

fantastic little zoo. both children and adults will like. even a zipline for those adventuresome folks. the zoo is modern where the animals can roam and than the typical old style zoo. we all enjoyed it especially the ability to feed the animals. btw the giraffes are pigs and will eat all your food. wear a hat here in the summer as a lot of the place is open. very small food place for hot dogs but there a a coupla of vending machines scattered around the zoo.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Richmond Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Metro Richmond Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Richmond Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.