We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constitution Birthplace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Madison's Montpelier

James Madison's Montpelier
11407 Constitution Highway, Montpelier Station, VA 22957
540-672-2728
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home and burial site of James Madison and his wife Dolly.
Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Constitution Birthplace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful home restored to the times of James & Dolly Madison. In addition to seeing how the Madison's lived, there is an opportunity to reflect in the room where James Madison researched the teachings of the great thinkers on representative government and developed the outline for our own Constitution. Quite inspiring.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    103
    21
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“On its way to being a great attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As others have stated, this is currently still being refurbished. But don't let that deter you - this was much more interesting than I was expecting, especially after visiting Monticello. The grounds are beautiful - there are miles of walking trails. If you're in the area and have some time, come early and take a nice walk. The tour guide was excellent and was able to answer every question asked of him. They have several archeological digs going on and they are very friendly to talk to.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“If you love history, you must visit Montpelier.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff is friendly and welcoming, the grounds are immaculate, and the house is historically accurate to Mr. Madison's retirement period. You start your visit at the Visitor's Center, where the informative introductory film is shown, then follow a path to the House itself. The last time we were at Montpelier, the inside of the house was undergoing restoration, so to be able to see the final product in its finished state was exciting. Our guide was able to tell us many interesting details of the Madisons and Mr. Madison's contributions to our country, and there were exhibits on the second floor that, sadly, we did not have time to see. The kitchen area under the house was also open, but again, there were time constraints, so I can't speak to the exhibits there.The Madisons are buried on the property, and you are able to walk there to pay your respects. A beautiful Fall day, an opportunity to visit the amazing home of one of our very important Founding Fathers, and staff who are glad to see you. What more can a visitor ask?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarrytown new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Presidential home in VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A beautiful old house that Madison lived in for his whole life. Less busy than Monticello. smaller group, wonderful tour guide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Excellent study although underdeveloped.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I found Montpelier to be quite interesting and reflective of James Madison's life and time. The main mansion has been restored to the scale that it was under Madison and half is roughly half furnished. They still got a long way to go. The grounds were well kept, thank goodness that the cemetery isn't fenced off like Monticello and it quite pretty out there, horse country.

The only major downside is that you can't take any photos inside the house. That is too bad but that is the rules, eh?

The tour was bit pricey but interesting and informative. They are quite weak in the War of 1812 stuff but I am sure more is on the way. Too bad that his library hasn't been furnish yet since that will give us some fantastic insight on how Madison formatted the Constitution.

Overall, a great place to visit and well worth your time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Madison's Montpelier also viewed

 

Been to James Madison's Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Madison's Montpelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.