We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Visiting a Favorite Aunt and Uncle (on a Mountain)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Point Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Point Retreat
Save
You added Laurel Point Retreat to your Saves list
414 Sounding Knob Road, Monterey, VA 24465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Monterey B&B and Inns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like Visiting a Favorite Aunt and Uncle (on a Mountain)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Traveler couple in late 60's. Among our very best B&B experiences ever. The setting is beautiful, and the B&B itself is rustic, warm, and welcoming, very well designed, furnished, and operated. But best of all are the proprietors, Jim and Lorraine White, whose rural life and gentle ways coddled us like family from the first moment to the last, but leaving us to visit with others or to our own devices as we preferred. By evenings' end we'd spent most of the time visiting with other travelers, whom we welcomed and continued visiting - and staying well past our departure time - the next morning over coffee and a spectacular breakfast.

Perhaps reduced a bit these days, the Whites produce many of the foods served, including baked goods, jams and jellies, eggs, bacon and sausages, and other delights.

We're looking for an excuse to return, maybe for the Christmas pageant.

Room Tip: Although we had no need, our room was designed to accommodate wheel-chair bound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the Mountain View Room for a night. This is definitely the best B&B that we've ever stayed in - in terms of quality, service, location and value. We were greeted by Jim the owner, who has been working in the farm as we drove up, and shortly after, Jodie the playful dog, who warmly greeted us. Lorraine, Jim's wife, led us to our room. The room was nicely furnished with antiques and handcrafted items, some were made Lorraine. The view was absolutely fabulous. You could see mountains after mountains on a clear day. No air cond is needed as it was cool enough at night simply by opening the window.

We enjoyed sitting on the lawn chairs outside the house just before the sunset. (The sun set behind the trees though). Not a big deal, as Jodie and the cat would try to get your attention and the horse and the friendly donkey were grazing nearby. Jim offered a tour to his highland cattle and vegetable garden. They grew all kinds of vegetables themselves. It was cloudy in the morning but I enjoyed sitting in the rocking chair by the window watching the clouds moving in and out of the mountains. I think it was therapeutic to watch the weather!

Breakfast was certainly another highlight. the homemade jam, homemade bread, delicious egg casserole, freshly squeezed juice, freshly grind coffee, fruit salad. We enjoyed breakfast as Jim shared his stories. Lorraine is definitely a great cook and potter. A lot of the pottery in the house was made by her. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Our GPS (with an updated map this year) was spot on. Google and Bing Maps should able to get you there too, and there was a small sign on the main road at Sounding Knob Road, as well as at the entrance of their driveway.

Room Tip: The best view, no doubt, is the Mountain View Room where you can see endless mountain ranges in a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Laurel Point Bed and Breakfast is the best place we have ever stayed. We were three adults and three small children, and we stayed in the cabin. It was perfectly clean and comfortable, and the grounds were lovely. JIm and Loraine were very friendly and welcoming, especially with our children. Jim showed the kids the animals and allowed them to pick veggies in the garden for a salad. We also went on many walks with Jodie, their dog. Lorraine's cooking was delicious, and everything seemed to be made from scratch. Best breakfast we have ever had.

This place is a perfect retreat if you want to get away from everything and enjoy crisp mountain air and lovely views. Thanks for the great trip!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a night at Jim and Lorraine's place on our way to drop our kids off at camp. We are a couple and 3 kids (ages 11, 9, 5). The location is stunning - the views from the patio are amazing - and the house and property are wonderful: Lorraine let the kids pick some veggies in the garden; Jim took us on a tour to see the cows/horse/donkey, and the other cute little rental houses on their property; and the kids loved playing with Jody the dog! The bedrooms were perfect for us: 1 room with a queen, separated but connected to another room with a full-size and queen-size bed and en suite bathroom. The breakfast the next morning was scrumptious, and our jog up the trail to the fire tower was tiring but fun! The B&B is kind of hard to find, so ask Jim for directions before you set out. Recommend it if you're traveling through the area!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Jim and Lorraine are excellent host, they direct their attention to ensuring you have an enjoyable and relaxing experience at their home. Jodie, the canine trail guide, will ensure you have an enjoyable experience on each trail you may venture down. The views of the mountain landscape are simply spectacular, If you are looking for a relaxing get-away, Laurel Point Retreat is the one place to go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our visit at Laurel Point this Autumn is an experience we will always treasure. Lorraine and Jim's warmth and friendliness made us feel right at home and immediately like family.The farm's breathtaking panoramas of fall foliage, period architecture and artisan craftsmanship created a timeless ambiance of hard work, skill, artistry and love of nature. Jim and Lorraine's spectacular restored log home and working farm, their handmade arts and crafts and antiques, Lorraine's absolutely delicious organic mountain homemade jams, apple butter, maple syrup, buckwheat pancakes, homemade breads and bagels, casseroles and phenomenal baked oatmeal, the warm fires, mountain lore and Jim's stories all wove a simpler yet earthy design of self-sufficiency and innate love of the mountains and their beauty. Our last morning there as we sat around the kitchen table sharing conversations about nature and life in general with everyone, we felt a thread of fellowship and connectiveness that has renewed us. Jim and Lorraine have indeed achieved through their hospitality and genuine kindness mountain magic at Laurel Point Retreat that cannot be paralleled--an inspiring and comforting experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We enjoyed a thoroughly good time at the Laurel Point retreat. The rebuild of the inn at the top of Jack Mountain is a treat to behold and the effort must have been amazing!
Lorraine and Jim are excellent hosts, they could not do enough to help us in any way they could.
Room very spacious and spotless. breakfast excellent, just try the buckwheat pancakes. Would recommend totally.
Peter s

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Point Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Retreat

Address: 414 Sounding Knob Road, Monterey, VA 24465
Location: United States > Virginia > Monterey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Point Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.