We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Trip Turned Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Point Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Point Retreat
Save
You added Laurel Point Retreat to your Saves list
414 Sounding Knob Road, Monterey, VA 24465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Monterey B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Work Trip Turned Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was in Monterey, VA on business and at the recommendation of others stayed at Laurel Point instead of the local Inn. What a wonderful experience. Lorraine and Jim are the owners and just as nice and accommodating as anyone could hope for. The B&B is clean and well maintained and the breakfast was just wonderful. My colleague and I were asked each evening, what time we wanted breakfast and what we would like to eat. Lorraine bakes all of her breads fresh, makes wonderful jams, jellies and spreads and the eggs are fresh with no processing. The scenery is just wonderful; magnificent mountains that you can just sit on the patio and take in. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My kids and I enjoyed a great time at Laurel Point Retreat. Jim and Lorraine were very welcoming and helped us feel right at home. The breakfast was incredibly good. The view is amazing. We had the best time ever.

Erica, Chris and Elianna.

Room Tip: Mountain View room was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We knew as soon as we saw this beautiful place that it was worth the 80+ miles off our path going home. It is simply unforgettable! It was a very comfortable place very tastefully filled with Colonial antiques. Early American Magazine should do a story on this place! If you don't like that style period, no one with a brain can ever say the location and view are not one of the best on this planet! The owners were away when we stayed, but they had the most wonderful couple take care of the inn and we could not have asked for a better experience...what wonderful memories we all had from our trip there. It is a long way from Georgia, but we want to go back again. While we were there we met others who had returned. It's like the Grand Canyon...words and photos just don't give you the true picture...you need to see it to believe how beautiful it is! We stayed in the log room on a very hot day in July. Since I am the hot flash queen...I was worried that it would be too hot at night. They had fans going in the windows that we had to turn off because it got too cold. I am just mentioning this so that you know what to expect. If I was comfortable...anyone would be!

Room Tip: The log room is perfect for families and contrary to the description they give...it has a lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This B&B is a real gem. The first thing that hits you is the staggering view of the mountains of Virginia. But then you see what a gorgeous home this is. The hosts are a friendly warm couple who built this place from the ground up with all recycled materials and a whole lot of love. The room we stayed in (log room) was comfortable, clean and full of character. There are homemade quilts, antiques and charming spaces throughout the house, and the property is a working cattle farm. We loved it here, and wish we could have stayed longer. A retreat in every sense!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Out of all the places we've stayed, I believe Jim and Lorraine came closer to treating their guests like "family" than any other hosts we've experienced. By the time you leave, you may feel like you should be offering to wash the dishes! The meals by Lorraine are fantastic; the house, which Jim built all by himself, is incredible. And the view is simply unbelievable. You have to drive a ways to get there, and you may have to drive quite a ways to get to a restaurant you like. BUT Hiighland County is so beautiful I'll bet you don't mind the ride at all!

Room Tip: See it the room with the 75 (100?) mile view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family of four (two children) stayed at the Laurel Point Retreat for one night on our way to ski at Snowshoe, WV. Jim and Lorraine accomodated our late arrival, during a snow storm no less, without a problem. Our room was spacious and warm and even had heated tiles in the bathroom. It was tough to get out of the comfortable beds the next morning but we could smell the great breakfast already. Jim and Lorraine made us a wonderful and early breakfast that fueled us for a day of skiing. They even allowed our kids to help grind the morning coffee on their antique grinder. We had a great stay, the home is beautiful and the hosts were friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the Laurel Point Retreat!

-The Khatchadurians (FEB - 2012)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This place is just plain amazing. Just stay here, i don't wanna spoil it.

Room Tip: I stayed in the birdhouse. Bed was super comfy. Don't the the words 'modern outhouse' s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Point Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Retreat

Address: 414 Sounding Knob Road, Monterey, VA 24465
Location: United States > Virginia > Monterey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Point Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.