We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gorgeous Place This Is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Mountain Lake

Smith Mountain Lake
Moneta, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Moneta
Type: State Parks, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Fishing
Attraction details
Gloucester, VA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a Gorgeous Place This Is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Smith Mountain Lake, VA, and marveled that we had traveled to New Hampsire for a lake getaway that included a flight, rental car and home rental when we could have stayed in VA for the same experience. Who knew...we didn't! We thoroughly enjoyed our day-long jaunt throughout Smith Mountain Lake, surrounding areas, and especially the State Park; and would highly recommend it to all. Perfect place to picnic, rent a boat, take a cruise, or just enjoy riding around the various lake-front communities (such as Boardwalk) and wishing that we lived there! There is a nominal fee ($4) to enter the State Park but well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    20
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Drove around the northern part of the lake. Very nice. Lots of marinas for boat access. Numerous restaurants to reach by boat or car.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Blue Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This destination is a must for anyone traveling the mid-atlantic area. It is a vacation spot, a day trip or a great place to settle. The lake is large and wandering. The water is green and clean. This is also the home to major fishing tournaments throughout the year. Bring your boat or rent one but get out on the water. One can spend all day touring the lake while all the while never being that far from land in case ya need something! The swimming is great wether your at the state park or jumpin off the boat. Note: Make sure you are an accomplished swimmer or use a life jacket when on the lake, it is very deep in most locations. The lake is owned by the local power company which uses it to generate electric power ala the damn at the end of south side of the lake. Swimming at the base of a huge mountain in an emerald green cove is almost surreal. For the motor heads there is boat rental(all types) & jet ski rental. Campers will also find a vast area to adventure through. Camp grounds are available for pop ups and RVs w/ hook ups. Not on the water? Well you can go shopping at the many stores, antique shops or tourist traps,play golf, go to the movies, munch at one of the many eateries or go see the blue Ridge.
Need I say more, I think not! :) Just Go! You won't be sorry.............

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went for the first time this past weekend to SML and it is gorgeous. If you're a water-person, you'll love it. Plenty of fishing, boating, water skiing, jet skiing, walks along the shoreline, etc. Plenty to do aside from the lake stuff, too. Will definitely be returning

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Many people visit Smith Mountain Lake in Bedford County, Virginia for camping, picnics, boating and jet skiing. Swimming is allowed at Smith Mountain State Park where there is a sandy beach and area for picnics. The Virginia Dare offers cruises on the lake and also lunch and dinner cruises. It is a very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Mountain Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.