We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It got even BETTER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halesford Harbour Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moneta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halesford Harbour Inn
1336 Campers Paradise Trail, Smith Mountain Lake, Moneta, VA 24121   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Moneta
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It got even BETTER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here in the spring of '12 and decided to stay again. The motel is just as good, clean, friendly and affordable as ever... but this time we rented a boat for two days and went all around the lake. Smith Mountain Lake is magnificent! It has got to be one of the most pristine lakes on the planet. We also ate at Jake's Place twice for dinner. It's right on the water and we sat outside for 3 hours and didn't want to leave. WOW! What a place... Great food, lodging and lake... with the friendliest folks you'd ever want to meet... all in one location! We booked a reservation for July 4th 2014 and we got 3 rooms for the kids and grand-kids. What a jewel of a resort.... and sooooooo reasonable! Cheers...

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level with a full kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I can't say enough about hoe great our stay was. I was looking for a place that had a variety of needs to be filled. Senior friendly and that was youthful! Pet-friendly, with clean rooms! Lake access with a boat slip! And, kitchenette! Halesford Harbour Inn was that and more!

Micheal was wonderful on the phone & helped us feel no stress, as the beginning of our trip was a " Murphy's Law" morning! We arrived later than expected & Jennifer greeted us, gave us our, room info & the 411 on where to find what! She was great!

The rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable, the shower was ample with good water pressure. The Inn more than suited our needs, especially, after a long day on the water. Lake access was good, boat launch close, we put out boat trailer in a lot close to our room.

We will definitely be back! And, soon! We are looking forward to bringing more of our family and telling our friends about our "get-a-way"! Thank you Jennifer & Micheal for your genuine hospitality!! Missy thanks for helping us checking out!!

Since they are a smaller establishment, if you don't get an answer when making a reservation...leave a message! Someone WILL call you back!

Room Tip: Our next stay with family may be in the suite or in room #1 (it has a small deck), however, our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapmanville, WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We came to Smith Mountain Lake last year and were having too much fun to go home. Our condo rental was over, but we found Halesford Harbour on the internet so we could extend our vacation. The room was comfortable and made our last few days at Smith Mountain Lake even more fun. The place is very quaint and the updates are very nice. Loved the marina and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family stayed here over the weekend. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, the view if the lake is also good, and they are pet friendley! Great for fishermen and their families. We hope to get to go back to SML, and if we do I definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for 2 weeks in April during a Fishing Tournament for my husband. Upon arrival one of the very helpful & friendly grounds keeper immediately showed us where to check in & took my husband for a tour of the park in his golf cart. Check in was fast & easy. The officer manager was very friendly & easy going. The housekeeper was very pleasant & works around your schedule. Our room was spotless, spacious & had a beautiful view of smith mountian lake. It was equipt with a full kitchen that was very convient. There's a boat ramp right on site so my husband was very happy! Jakes resturant is also on site with great food & prices! The sandy beaches & playground kept my 2 year old entertained. Over all we had a great stay at a reasonable price & we will return back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Halesford Harbour for a week in October 2012 while looking at real estate around SML. What a pretty location and convenient to our search. While not a luxury accommodation, it was very neat , clean and very well kept up. The staff was great and we enjoyed our stay there. There are boat rentals nearby and a restaurant that was open only on the weekend but it must be fabulous in the summertime, as it has a patio right out over the cove. For the money, we couldn’t have expected any better. We would have rated it 5* for us, but some people expect more in the way of luxury. It was the type of accomodation we look for, with the added benifit of being right on the water.

Room Tip: We did not select the room, but ours opened up on the lower level facing the lake. Every morning it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The new owners of this older motel have done a fantastic job updating and cleaning up the property! The Inn has a beautiful wooded setting at the Lake's edge with brand new docks and a great staff. The rooms have large picture windows providing a lovely view of the lake. The rooms are very clean. If you have not been at this "motel" since the new owners put a lot of money and effort into the location, it is worth another look - it is nothing like the "dump" the place used to be before the change in ownership. It is clear that these people really care about the property and the service they provide. They go out of their way to remember you and engage in conversation without being obtrusive.

At the same time, if you are seeking a luxury hotel stay, this might not be the right place. They have updated an old motel as much as possible, but it is still a mature property, albeit very clean, newly painted, etc. No pool, fitness room, free breakfast, etc. - it's just not that kind of place. Nice new TVs and wifi are included in the rooms, which was appreciated, and everything worked well.The walls are thin (every time the neighbor unlocked his door, I though he was coming into my room!), the appliances are mostly older and the bathroom is very small with a very loud fan. The beds were extremely hard, the "beach" needs work, and outdoor seating was not particularly comfortable (how about a few lounge chairs in addition to the pretty metal benches?).

Particularly for boaters or fisherman, this is a great spot! Jake's is within easy walking distance, as is the boat rental (although it limits the best fishing time when the boats cannot be picked up until 9am). The hotel's dock is right in front of the rooms, providing easy access. Room amenities are adequate, and I was especially pleased to see a bed with two pillows rather than the typical hotel overkill of 6-10 pillows per bed! That may be reflective of the type of property this is - good, clean basic inn space for those who plan to spend most of their vacation out of doors. I will definitely stay here again when visiting SML.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the lower level, as you can open the door and be lakeside. The upper rooms lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halesford Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halesford Harbour Inn

Address: 1336 Campers Paradise Trail, Smith Mountain Lake, Moneta, VA 24121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Moneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Moneta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Inn is located waterside on Smith Mountain Lake. Our rooms have a spectacular view and were updated with new plush top mattresses in January 2014. We offer boat slips and boat launch complimentary with Inn room rental. The on site marina offers boat and canoe rental.There is also a private beach area for our guests. Jake's Place Restaurant is adjacent to the Inn. We are located just 1 mile east of Hales Ford Bridge on VA 122. There are lots of family activities and restaurants located within 1 mile of the resort at Bridgewater Plaza. You will not find a more peaceful,relaxing and beautiful facility on Smith Mountain Lake! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halesford Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Halesford Harbour Inn to your Saves list