We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good neighborhood type restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan's Restaurant

Jonathan's Restaurant
50 First Watch Drive #101, Moneta, VA
24121-6604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Moneta
Cuisines: American, Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood type restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tuesday after 4:00pm, hamburgers are half price...making this a reasonably priced dinner! They have a nice buffet at lunch and on Sunday with lots of Chinese choices. I haven't been impressed with their wine choices but service is generally good and the staff is friendly!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited late one evening. My husband had a pasta dish and I had General Tso's chicken. My husband's meal was okay, but mine was inedible. The chicken was coated with a hard, flavorless coating that was impossible to chew and had no flavor. The staff was friendly, and the service was prompt. The food was just disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, but did not get the buffet we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Jonathan's for dinner with another family. We had read good reviews and was expecting a buffet. Unfortunately they do not have the buffet for dinner. We ordered off the menu and the food was good. I got the crab cakes. I was expecting a remoulade sauce, but they did not come with anything. I could never get the waitress' attention so I just used my husband's leftover tartar sauce. Service was very slow. I don't believe that we ever got any drink refills. It was very odd that they seated us at a table right in front of the bathroom door! I have never seen that in a restaurant. There was very little room between the door and our chairs. When I was coming out of the bathroom I hit the waitress with the door when she was standing there taking orders. That was very embarrassing! While the food was OK, I doubt that we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service but decent food if you're not in a hurry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited Jonathans on a Sunday evening at 7:00pm during non-buffet hours. Got put on a wait list because the hostess was told that she couldn't seat any more tables because the kitchen got backed up by about an hour. Waited for 20 min to sit at a table that was available since we walked in the door. Ordered our meal and an appetizer immediately when we sat down. Took 30 minutes to get cheese fries deliveres to our table, then waited another 20 min for food. All in all, what should've taken no more than an hour, we were at the restaurant for an hour and 40 min

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Jonathan's is a good family restaurant. They offer good value and pretty good food. The Sunday buffet is wonderful. Tuesday's are half price burgers (make a reservation!). Service is good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.