We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as I was told” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lewis Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Lewis Lodge
Save
You added Fort Lewis Lodge to your Saves list
603 Old Plantation Way, Millboro, VA 24460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Millboro B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great as I was told”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Loved this place. We went there on the last weekend before they closed for the year. Nothing much to do during our stay but we enjoyed it nonetheless.

I gave it 4 stars because even though they welcome children, the mealtime was not ideal for people with young kiddies. Dinner was served at 7:30 pm but by the time we got to eat it was almost 8 pm. Line can be quite long when you only have one food station. Family with kids should definitely bring your own snack.

Food was great. I'm an avid cook myself and have dined at many great restaurants around DC area.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This place is in the middle of a 3000 plus acre farm, but they really do a good job. We rented a stand alone cabin which I would recommend over the lodge. The food was included (Breakfast and dinner) and it was a combination of country cooking and healthy use of natures bounty=healthy!

Lots to do and good for families. They provide bikes and helmuts, have a swimming hole in the river, hiking, games, tether ball, swings, tv room, wireless, and cell phones worked (sadly!). Hosts couldn't have been nicer, and went out of their way to accomodate dietary concerns. Interestingly, they hosts kept a distance, yet they were always available and eager to help.

Dinners can be social and everyone can eat at their own table, yet there was much interaction, if wanted.

The Homestead is 30 minutes away for a different experience, we ate lunch there.

We wished we had stayed another night!

  • Liked — star gazing deck
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We can not see how there could be a negative review of Fort Lewis Lodge. We have been visiting there for years and each time it seems to get better. Perhaps ten visits. We have recommended it to our friends and members of our family and everyone is delighted.
Caryl and John are always welcoming and thoughtful and provide an excellent mountain/outdoor experience for their guests. Do not expect them to gush and hover, but do know that they make every effort to give their guests a delightful stay in a beautiful setting.
The breakfast and dinner buffets are delicious, with enough choices that one takes small portions just to make sure one has room for a taste of everything. And the oh the muffins!
We can enjoy a picnic lunch (at minimal extra cost) and visit the many fishing/watering holes/swimming/hiking delights that John suggests. This is truly a place to escape to; and take a deep breath into relaxation and rejuvination.
On our last visit we took six friends. We all left wanting more time at the end of our stay! (the indication of a great holiday!) So we'll be back yet again!
We have traveled to the Caribbean and England/Europe extensively and Fort Lewis Lodge is right up there with "wonderful places to get back to."

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night on August 5, 2007. I had a very pleasant experience corresponding with Carol and booking our room. In fact, we wanted to stay in one of the lower priced cabins and only the Tall Timbers cabin was available. Carol booked us in the Tall Timbers for the same rate as the smaller cabins. Upon arrival we were greeted by John. He explained where everything was, what time happy hour was, dinner, etc. Let me say the grounds were gorgeous. The biggest sunflowers I had every seen! Beautiful flowers everywhere. Very meticulously maintained. Our cabin was spectacular. Everything in it was perfect. The colors, the furniture, accessories, everything. We had a lovely deck off the bedroom with 2 comfortable chairs and we enjoyed just sitting out there listening to the silence after dinner. The swimming hole was great fun. There were inner tubes you could float in and a deck with chairs that you could hang out on. There were also fishing poles available. The water was clear and refreshing. Upstairs in the mill, there was a pool table and ping pong table. Happy hour at Bucks Bar was fun. Everyone just haning out having wine or beer (or soda), getting to know one another. At 7:30 John rang the dinner bell and what a treat dinner was! Delicious pork tenderloin, homemade muffins, 3 different salads, rice casserole and squash casserole. Dessert and coffee were served also. The breakfast bell rang at 9:00 the next morning and we were treated to a wonderful breakfast that included a farmer's omelet, homemade peach muffins, fruit salad, etc. John was very helpful with directions. This place was wonderful and will certainly make a lot of places we may visit after pale in comparison. Many people we met there were back for their 5th or 6th year. That says a lot. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness, great food, hospitality
  • Disliked — Remote location, not much to do
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinicinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

We truly enjoyed our stay at this Inn. We were looking for a place to relax on the first few days of our trip -- and this was just the place.
The Inn keepers are friendly and helpful -- and helped us plan our day trips and answered endless questions about their Inn, the property and the area.
The breakfasts and dinners were delicious -- great home cooked food that was just wonderful. And we enjoyed talking with the other guests during the cocktail hour and during the dinner.
Our room was spacious, clean and provided everything we needed. And the gathering room at the Inn provided a great place to curl up and read a book in the evening.
We found plenty to do in the area -- and the pace was nice and slow (a good thing).
We loved this place and we are looking forward to returning to relax again.
Dave and Rita

  • Liked — Ability to relax
  • Disliked — Can't think of any
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

What's not to love about Fort Lewis Lodge? My husband and I returned after five years to find the same fabulous country retreat, the delightful Caryl and John's friendly faces, the charming accomodations and the stunningly good cooking. As soon as we arrived, John came out to greet us with his jaunty and friendly manner. He is easy-going, and the master of pleasant conversation. Caryl is a warm, hard-working earth-mother who takes the time to personally introduce each dish to every guest with the same freshness as if it were the first. This lovely couple are seasoned world-travellers who combine the perfect combination of willingness to chat and sensitivity to your desire to relax.
Fort Lewis lodge is a place to relax completely and unwind, to meet and make new friends (the lodge seems to attract a warm and friendly clientele) and to settle in to guiltlessly indulge in comfort. Our room was very clean and attractive (we slept in the converted silo which was a novel experience!) The rest of the place is wonderfully rustic and really provides a unique experience of life in a country lodge. We poked our heads into a few empty suites and found the same tasteful furnishings and cleanliness that characterize Fort Lewis Lodge.
I tend to be a harsh critic of much of the food served to me in this country, but I can truly tell you that Caryl's cooking is second to none! Truly this is the best food I have eaten in the States. It is amusing to notice the cattle-like response to the dinner bell that seems to take an eternity to herald the evening meal. Resisting the urge to drop everything and RUN, we make our way with the other guests who have clearly been waiting in their room with the same eager anticipation, and try to maintain dignity by not rushing the steaming, fragrant food. As a vegetarian, I found my limited diet abundantly catered to in a variety of delicious dishes- and my husband gratefully abandons his diet for the succulently prepared meat dishes. A silence settles over the table as everyone tucks in to the stunning array of tasty dishes served buffet-style- save exclamations about the quality and taste of the food. Second helpings are fine, and dessert is always the perfect finish!
This place is awesome and we will return over and over again. It is to be highly recommended and is a credit to the dedication of its owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

We had the best time! I spent my summers as a child at a small girls' camp not far from the Lodge, and had stayed at the Lodge twice before (once with friends, once with family). This trip, however, was even better than the others! We went in the Autumn when the trees were at their most glorious so I could show my partner (he's from New Zealand) how gorgeous Virginia is in Fall. We weren't disappointed. We stayed one night, and as noted by other reviewers, it's a great place to "get away from it all" and the food was absolutely divine, as I'd remembered. Caryl was very accommodating about coeliac disease (gluten intolerance) and went through the ingredients of each dish with us so that we could avoid foods with gluten. Everything was delicious!

You may wish to note that If there are several guests dining at the Lodge, you may share a table with others. This was by no means a problem for us, and there were several small tables that you could take if you're adverse to this, but it added to our experience as we met some lovely people.

I can't think of a better place to go for a quiet, romantic weekend than the Fort Lewis Lodge.

  • Liked — The food! Oh, and the opportunity to relax :)
  • Disliked — Loved it all.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Lewis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lewis Lodge

Address: 603 Old Plantation Way, Millboro, VA 24460
Location: United States > Virginia > Millboro
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion at Fort Lewis Lodge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Lewis Hotel Millboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Lewis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.