We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty for lunch, dinner, and dessert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desserterie LLC

Desserterie LLC
6161 Harbourside Center Loop, Midlothian, VA 23112-2162
804-639-9940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 184 Restaurants in Midlothian
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty for lunch, dinner, and dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are regular customers of their dessert counter, but the two of us recently decided to try their dinner menu. They do not have a lot of tables, but we were seated immediately despite the busy dinner hour. Our waitress was attentive and friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. I ordered the red pepper soup with a pesto chicken panini, and my other half got the French onion soup with the pesto chicken panini. Our food was made and brought out quickly; everything looked beautiful and was hot off the grill. My soup had a swirl of what looked like sour cream over the top, and my other half's onion soup had a pretty lattice of interwoven cheese melted over it. The red pepper soup was divine; very flavorful and creamy with chunks of peppers in it. His soup had lots of onion bits and thick chunks of bread in it. We both agreed- super delicious! Our sandwiches were also every bit delicious... beautifully grilled panini bread, hot off the grill, with big pieces of sliced chicken breast and ooey-gooey melted cheese, all covered with a wonderful pesto sauce. Soooooo good! And the price was great- $12 for the sandwich and soup. And of course, we saved room for dessert! Mister loves their cannoli (which they fill fresh- no soggy cannoli here!) and I am a longtime fan of their Chocolate Disaronno cake. Yes, the desserts are a little pricey, but as said before- its worth it! This is a really nice place for a date night dinner, and of course, always good for a dessert stop!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“And - I didn't even HAVE dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Visited for an afternoon lunch with my elderly Dad. I fully expected him to want dessert, but he passed after all. I'd been here before with a friend, so I knew he would like the food.
During lunch, you have to order at the counter - which is filled with GORGEOUS desserts. We had excellent coffee and really good sandwiches. Both were quite delicious. The atmosphere is very nice - and the gals working the counter, serving and bussing the tables are really working hard!
This is a really cute place, and I am picky. If I didn't need to lose weight, I would surely get some pastries!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Yummiest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

And the nicest people as well! This family-owned and operated establishment is sort of like Cheers for those of us who go often: everybody knows your name. On top of that lovely atmosphere, the food is wonderful. They do the BEST gluten-free desserts and even created a beautiful birthday cake for me that was gluten-free. My guests didn't even know it was GF. They just knew it was delicious!

Lunch is always a treat, with something to suit every palate and appetite. Everything is always fresh and freshly made.

Dinner is also wonderful. I had a filet mignon that was one of the best I have ever eaten. And I am told that the pasta dishes are original and equally delicious.

The Desserterie is a don't miss for anyone who appreciates elegant food in a casual setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch Only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Next time I'll try the dessert. They all looked very good. I had the smoked salmon wrapped asparagus as an appetizer and the chicken tortilla soup. Both were very good. I had an espresso, which was also very good. I definitely look forward to returning for dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great lunch with fabulous food and friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I enjoyed a great lunch including new items to their menu: tomato basil soup and quiche. The raspberry gelato was very good too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desserterie LLC also viewed

 

Been to Desserterie LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desserterie LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.