We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shanghai Restaurant
6701 Lake Harbour Dr, Midlothian, VA 23112-2083
804-639-9089
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
New York
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice surprise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ordered take-out as we had a large group, and the food was very good. Definitely order the Chicken Lettuce Wrap and dumplings, as they were delicious. Next time, we will dine-in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Best Chinese Food Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been going to this restaurant for years, and I honestly believe it has the best Chinese food buffet of any Chinese restaurant I have ever visited. It is also inexpensive. For seven dollars you can have your pick from many Chinese delights: orange chicken, crystal chicken, Hunan chicken, beef and broccoli, lo mein. The list goes on. This is not, however, one of those huge buffets that also serves French fries and crusty pizza. It is not a mega buffet, but it wonderful. The staff is also excellent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great quality buffet dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great buffet dining for lunch around the week and on the weekends, this restaurant has great selection of vegetables, meat and desserts. Love the soothing music and great customer service! Enjoy every time we go there with my family!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Starting to slide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We like to go here for the lunch buffet when we are hungry for Chinese, but lately they have been following a dangerous path -- higher prices with reduced quality and service. It is not uncommon to come in and find items that have not been replenished and then you have to wait for them to cook them. Other items have been sitting so long they are no longer appetizing. If you are going to run a lunch buffet, keep it fresh or shut it down. The spring rolls have way too much dough on them. In
addition, the selection never varies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.