We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood, wonderful service, atmosphere galore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Louie's

Crab Louie's
1352 Sycamore Sq Dr, Midlothian, VA 23113-4240
(804) 378-4977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 166 Restaurants in Midlothian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, wonderful service, atmosphere galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband took me to Crab Louie's for Mother's Day & it was my first time eating there. They brought a trio of relishes & a platter of sweet breads around and those made for a lovely appetizer. I chose the crab cake & Gulf shrimp combo & it was really SO good! My husband had the fried seafood combination & he said the fish was the best he'd ever tasted. The shrimp were the biggest we had ever had, they were tender & full of flavor! Both meals came with a salad & a side. There were plenty of options on the menu, it looks like they have something for everyone. I was too full to try dessert but the selection looked wonderful. I loved the atmosphere, our waitress was pleasant, knowledgeable & did a good job. I think this will be our new "go to" place for celebrating special events - it just has that feel! I really think you'll enjoy Crab Louie's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Standby for great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This restaurant in a Tavern is an excellent seafood restaurant. Their swordfish has always been a favorite of mine. The spinach is a nice side for any dish and the seafood Chesapeake is really a treat. Never tried the deserts but the she crab soup is real she crab soup. This has been a favorite of mine for over 20 years.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've been to this restaurant twice and both times it has been a great evening meal. The portions are generous by UK standards and always a little too much for me. But the food and service is great. The bread selection is great.

The styling is different, very nautical.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Crab Louie rules”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

For someone used to grand entrances and modern restaurant buildings, I was a little apprehensive while entering Crab Louie's. However, once inside all my apprehensions were set to rest by the friendly staff and the cosy ambience. Once the food arrived, I realized why my gracious hosts brought me here. For anyone visiting these parts, do consider eating here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No better seafood restaurant in the Richmond area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at Crab Louie's regularly for over 20 years. I have never had a bad meal there. The soups, breads and salads are all wonderful. I get the Norfolk Combination every time and it is always cooked to perfection. We rarely have room for dessert, but the raspberry sorbet is quite tasty. Of late, we have had a fantastic waiter, which makes the experience even better. Fascinating historical building. Convenient location. Choosing a seafood chain over this place would be ridiculous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Louie's also viewed

 

Been to Crab Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Louie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.