We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Awful Arthur's Seafood Company

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Awful Arthur's Seafood Company
1300 Sycamore Square, Midlothian, VA
(804) 893-4093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 182 Restaurants in Midlothian
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Lunch was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This placewas tooo loud and crowded when we went by for dinner. There lunch was excellent. I'm surprised they don't get more business at this time. It's definitely ann after work hangout.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Don't go by the name, trust the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Kind of an odd name, since the place is anything but awful. I had the smothered tilapia, and my wife the shrimp scampi. I would have to say my wife's was a little better, but both were good. I'm a big hush puppy fan, and these were pretty good. Atmosphere is good , and our service was excellent. We'll go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Simple seafood, fair prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Awful Arthur's replaces the long-time Milepost 5 seafood restaurant, and not much has changed in the décor or atmosphere. Seems a bit brighter, and certainly less dusty and cluttered, but retains the low-key beach hangout theme. Value is the draw, reasonable prices for large portions of simply prepared seafood. Nothing fancy or inventive, serving up standard shrimp & fish platters, same as several other stores in this chain. Separate raw bar is best for couples or adult groups, as the dining room fills with families and large groups. A screened-in patio looks inviting, and I expect to try that in the warmer weather. Finally, our server was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable, checking in and keeping our glasses filled. Overall, an unpretentious place for a fairly-priced dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great happy hour prices and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I met some friends on Friday night for dinner. We were happy to see the happy hour drink and food prices. We ordered oysters, steamed shrimp and ahi tuna. The oysters and shrimp were fabulous. The ahi tuna appetizer was just ok. I was not impressed with the dipping sauce and I felt like it was a little on the dry side. We will definately be back for happy hour seafood and drinks. I called to see if they took reservations and I was told that they did for groups of 8 or more but when we arrived there were four four top tables in the bar area that had reserved signs on them. The hostess told us that they must take reservations. Confusing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awful Arthur's Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Awful Arthur's Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awful Arthur's Seafood Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.