We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital ale house

Capital ale house
13831 Village Place Dr.,, Midlothian, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 182 Restaurants in Midlothian
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Capital Ale House, and we were there during happy hour so the drinks were several dollars off. If you like beer, they have a lot of choices. The crab cakes are delicious, the cobb salad is large and good, and my husband enjoyed his burger. We planned to eat outside, but there was a large party going on so we moved inside to a much more enjoyable and quiet environment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Always a great place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been here a few times and have never been disappointed. I love their burgers but today I had their special BBQ pork sandwich, which came with fries and hush puppies. My wife had a really great basil shrimp salad -- the shrimp looked wonderful and it was on a nice corn salad and covered with crostini. As an appetizer shared their giant pretzel, which tasted fresh out of the oven and had a nice sweet mustard to go with it. I can't wait to come back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food, beer and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staying in a nearby Best Western we spotted this place driving in. We enjoyed so much we went back twice.

The food is bistro style takes on classics. So burgers feature a lot. But there were a good selection of salads too.

Portions are more European size. (Thankfully)

Some on here say service is slow. We found it relaxed which makes a nice change from many US places where no sooner have you sat down than you are expected to say what you want to drink and a few minutes later what you want to eat.

A special mention for the staff. I left my wallet after the first visit. But it was looked after and I collected it the next evening.

One slight complaint. One of our party is 21. The first night he was a served a beer without being asked for ID. The second night he tried to order a beer at the bar (while we were waiting for a table) and was asked for ID. No issue with that but the bar staff wouldn't accept his UK driving licence (which has a photo and his date of birth on it.) He was later served a beer no questions asked at the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is an okay place and seems to be favored for groups to meet. Drinking beer - which I don't - is almost a requirement. The service was fine. The food average. The price fair for offerings. It was very loud and just not the type of place I would go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Meh food and poor service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Visited Capital Ale House on a slow week night to try out their food. I'm not a drinker, but I'd heard that their West End location was good, so I wanted to try their location South of the River. Huge disappointment. I ordered their version of salad nicoise and my husband ordered a chicken sandwich. The tuna tasted slightly off, and the vegetables were overdressed and not particularly tasty. Not bad enough to send back, but didn't encourage me to try anything else. Husband said chicken sandwich was average. Do not recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital ale house also viewed

 

Been to Capital ale house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital ale house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.