We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of towners happy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Vie European Bistro - CLOSED

Belle Vie European Bistro
1244 Alverser Plz, Midlothian, VA 23113-2628
804-379-3338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of towners happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Visitors from the state of Washington, we came across this surprise on the path from Costco to mom's place in Powhatan. A ribeye medium rare with a refined green pepper sauce was as good as anything at the Metropolitan Grill in Seattle. Truffle burger with foie gras and caramelized onions...wow. Service started out well though hostess never made eye contact and appeared ambivalent. Server was detached and distant though we tried to gently engage. The chef was charming. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sophistication on the Southside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've eaten at Belle Vie a half dozen times. Great service, delicious food, perfect presentation every time. Never, ever was I rushed. Everything I've ordered has been very good and some items have been great. My favorite is the lunch salad with warm chicken livers. This place is a real asset to Chesterfield County and I hope the owners find great success here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This place has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

One of the best in this area; in this city space; ever. If you like mussels and I do this is one of the places you will return to again and again. The escargot is excellent. They have wonderful desserts. It is just an all round great dining experience,

Nice atmosphere. Not loud at all.

Very attentive service from the staff and management.

Wonderful for that special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great expectations... moderate opinion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time at Belle Vie and we had invited a couple that was visiting from out of town to join us. The reviews drew us here and we had great expectations. I will admit that we are foodies.

We were greeted amicably and our guests had already arrived and were at the bar. Once the tab was settled we were seated promptly. Our waitress, Wendi, greeted us very nicely and asked all the right questions. Throughtout the whole experience she was attentive and nice, but a bit pushy and rushed at times.

DW ordered Le Filet Mignon (Medium+). It arrived well done. She ordered the Bearnaise sauce as an accompaniment and it was too thin and was very bland and missing the expected flavors of Tarragon and Shallot. I ordered Carbonnade a la Flammande (beef stew). Very flavorful, but the sauce was very thin and absent of vegetables. We ordered the Green Beans and Mixed Vegetables as sides. The green beans were cooked well but absent the advertised shallots. The mixed vegetables were tired and overcooked. DW ordered the Belgian Mousse for dessert and she reported it being heavy and lacking the expected lightness. We will admit that we are used to French Mousse and perhaps the Belgian variety is supposed to be this way?

We had great expectations for Belle Vie, but were slightly disappointed. We will probably return and try some other selections.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I love their menu from Escargot to a delicious homemade Tiramasu. The main courses are also great If you like Mussels, this is definitely your place. We prefer Filet Mignon & they do a beautiful job, including a nice little salad on the plate. Both owners are quite nice & care that the customer is pleased.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Vie European Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Vie European Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.