We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree,,,, it's the people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8710 Midlothian Turnpike, Midlothian, VA 23235 (Formerly Comfort Inn Midlothian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Midlothian
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I agree,,,, it's the people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The tall, beautiful woman behind the front desk and the small bundle of "caring mom" energy who takes care of the breakfasts are the outstanding features of this otherwise
competent-but-uninteresting chain property. The beds are comfortable, the linens crisp, the amenities bare but adequate. The motel is clean. When I checked in, I was surprised at how plain it was, to have received an 8 plus rating on Priceline, but by the middle of breakfast, I'd figured it out. People who interacted with me without rote responses and a definite generosity in the array at breakfast (although not the health food I, myself, would have wanted... it was just a generous offer of typically awful foodstuffs,) Imagine good food at a chain motel! But I digress. This is a nice place to stay, and even nicer if you get it on an Express Deal. Pool wasn't open but I suspect it will be clean.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
2
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
earth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you stay at a hotel, you get a feeling. The feeling may be that the rooms are clean and everything works; that the front desk is efficient or not. That the price/value relationship was positive or negative, etc.
That said, the owner of this hotel has obviously spent over a million dollars renovating this hotel and converting it to a Holiday Inn Express. We initially chose it because Holiday Inn Express has a reputation for consistency. Yes, the room was clean. Yes, everything works in the room. Yes, the front desk was efficient. All of the basics were done.
Then, we made friends. We weren’t looking for them, but they just happened. First, it was San at the Front Desk. She’s a wonderful young woman at the front desk who, yes, is friendly and efficient, but she is so much more. She worked her way into our visit, genuinely concerned that we have a good time. Making suggestions, jokes, and comments that a friend would. It isn’t something that was trained into her. It is who she is.
We then met Kiman, The Prince of the Morning. Kiman is in charge of the wonderful breakfast they serve. He takes personal responsibility and well-deserved pride in the service and product he delivers. He greets every guest with a pleasant “good morning”. And is observant of what the guest likes and doesn’t like. Within boundaries, he tries to tailor the breakfast experience for each guest.
It was a pleasure to get to know these two, and enjoy the fine work of the people behind the scenes who clean and keep everything working.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for your fantastic review. My favorite reviews are the ones that praise our hotel staff. We believe we have the best team of associates at any hotel in the area and it is great to read that this was your experience, too.
We are delighted to hear that you were comfortable during your stay and enjoyed the results of our recent renovations. Please consider yourself officially welcomed back and I hope that you will decide to allow us to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Courtney's attitude is awesome very nice and all ways greeting guests when they walk in and walk out very friendly and outgoing but some management members are all ways rude to her but she does her job RIGHT!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Richmond - Midlothian Turnpike. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrive on a Saturday night . The front desk associate Sean greeted me with very excellent customer service he made sure I made it to my room safely and ask me did I need him to assist me on anything. He made sure the lobby was always clean and put fresh coffee out. Also makes good popcorn ... Sean always greet me everytime I come down from the room ... He is a wonderful front desk associate im glad my visit was excellent because of him .

Room Tip: bed comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Some of my favorite reviews are the ones that compliment our staff. We feel we have a very caring and hard working staff that go above and beyond to make sure our guests are taken care of and it is a pleasure to hear that this was your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time you walk in to the time you walk out you are surprised (some good some bad).
I got to the hotel in the evening, and received pleasant greeting from Courtney at the desk.
when i got to the room i fell on the bed, it was like sleeping on a bed of clouds. the next morning breakfast was hot and fresh. my overall experience was good except, fans should be in the bathrooms and guy at the front desk with the glasses should not be so creepy, he made me feel uneasy. When i come back i'll be sure to bring the wife and kids.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear that you were so very comfortable and received excellent service during your stay! I am pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our delicious hot breakfast buffet - it's a guest favorite. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again the next time your travels bring you to the Richmond area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived on a Sunday evening. The young girl that checked me in was talking to house keeping. Once she turned her attention to me, she started the check-in process. She never ask me about my IHG membership, so I ask her if they had in on file. She said, "Yes, I see it." She ask me if I was satisfied with my room..?? I responded that I guess, I hadn't seen it yet.. Anyway, The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The toilet, IS LOW as mentioned in other reviews. The wall paper in the bathroom is peeling and its missing the cover for the ground fault plug in the bathroom. Every hotel I have stayed in always greets you when you walk in of the morning, evening etc.. This same girl was always sitting in the lobby when we returned talking to a group of ppl holding her cell phone. She would raise up to see who was coming in and then recline back when she seen it was "just a guest".. The black gentlemen that prepared breakfast of the mornings was EXACTLY the kind of employee you need in that business. Very Professional, Friendly and proudly represented the hotel. It's funny how one negative person can change your whole experience. Honestly, if you try to picture that stay without her, I would rate it a 4.5...

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your candid feedback on your stay. We take all guest concerns and feedback very seriously and I can assure you that we have already addressed the maintenance and service issues you mentioned. We appreciate your taking the time to bring these concerns to our attention. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the top-notch service we are typically known for in our breakfast area and it was a pleasure to share your comments with our staff.
We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you to the Richmond area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawsonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stay there about every week because of work. I have always received top notch customer service. The staff are wonderful and always there to help. The lobby and the rooms are very inviting and comfortable. They go out of their way to make my night away from home feel like a home.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
We are honored that you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you to the Richmond area. It is such a pleasure to hear that you consider the Holiday Inn Express Richmond - Midlothian Turnpike to be a home away from home. Our goal is to welcome each of our guests just as we would welcome a guest in our own home and your kind comments are the seal of approval on our efforts. Thank you for your business and for your recommendation to other travelers. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 8710 Midlothian Turnpike, Midlothian, VA 23235 (Formerly Comfort Inn Midlothian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Midlothian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Midlothian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers free wireless high-speed Internet access, free weekday newspaper, free deluxe continental breakfast, spacious updated exercise room, seasonal outdoor courtyard pool, business center. Business travelers will appreciate voice mail, work desks, access to fax and copy services. Newly renovated guest rooms feature coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons with boards, hair dryers. Some rooms with two king beds; two room suites available. Bob Evans restaurant next door. Restaurants, cocktail lounges, theater, specialty shops nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midlothian Hotel Richmond
Comfort Inn Richmond
Richmond Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Express Midlothian, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.