We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong time to visit?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Isle

Irish Isle
7843 Main St, Middletown, VA 22645
540-868-9877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Middletown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wrong time to visit?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We slipped in at an odd time, about 2:30 p.m. on a Sunday, and maybe that had something to do wiyh our experience. Mine was fine, good fish and chips, no complaints. My wife, however, got a terrible meal. She went for the O'brien's brisket ... Big mistake. She had me try it. Chordy, nasty stuff. I'm thinking we picked an off time and the wrong dish there, so I'd give it another shot. Don't know that I could convince my wife, though. If you go, stick to the basics (fish n chips, shepherds pie). Otherwise, you might be taking a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Authentic Irish fare - don't order a salad, go for a Shepherd's pie or Irish sausage, you won't regret it! Guinness is served just right - pub-style, and the owner entertains the crowd with very pleasant and well-performed Irish songs. Great experience overall!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Irish atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Delicious irish food. We love the Shepherd's pie. The beer is always cold. I especially love the owner's singing of the Irish songs. Reminds me of the music my parents used to love. Always enjoy going to Irish Isles!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Have been here twice and loved it each time. First time was for Sunday lunch in the restaurant, and then a Saturday evening in the downstairs pub. Food was great! service was good, and I loved the atmosphere. Will definitely go here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Check Out The Basement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I took a back country drive and landed in Middletown at the Irish Isle. We enjoy restaurants where we can sit at the bar and talk with the bartender and with locals to find out more about the area. When we first walked into the restaurant, we didn't see a bar - so we asked and were directed to the basement and WOW! The owners have gone through great effort to decorate the basement like an authentic Irish pub. OK, I've never been to Ireland, but this basement is the image I have in my mind. Ordered some Guiness and Fish and Chips - excellent! My husband had a burger and found it very delightful as well. We hung around for about 3 hours and just soaked in the atmosphere and conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Isle also viewed

 

Been to Irish Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.