We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Isle

Irish Isle
7843 Main St, Middletown, VA 22645
540-868-9877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Middletown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Have been here twice and loved it each time. First time was for Sunday lunch in the restaurant, and then a Saturday evening in the downstairs pub. Food was great! service was good, and I loved the atmosphere. Will definitely go here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Check Out The Basement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I took a back country drive and landed in Middletown at the Irish Isle. We enjoy restaurants where we can sit at the bar and talk with the bartender and with locals to find out more about the area. When we first walked into the restaurant, we didn't see a bar - so we asked and were directed to the basement and WOW! The owners have gone through great effort to decorate the basement like an authentic Irish pub. OK, I've never been to Ireland, but this basement is the image I have in my mind. Ordered some Guiness and Fish and Chips - excellent! My husband had a burger and found it very delightful as well. We hung around for about 3 hours and just soaked in the atmosphere and conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We first visited before Christmas before going to the Wayside Theater. Such a fantastic gem of a restaurant, everything was great, including the little pub downstairs. We have since been back twice and loved it. The food is out of this world especially my favorite the fish and chips, a huge piece of expertly fried cod, I had the potato of the day instead of fries which were great.
My husband loved the chicken pie, and we both enjoyed the bread pudding.
Nothing but perfection in my book.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wee bit suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I were traveling through the area when we stumbled upon this gem of a spot. Authentic Irish fare in the foothills of the Shenandoah mountains. The owner is quite the musician, and the food was great. The restaurant is in an old bank, complete with 110 yearvault. If you are in the area, you must stop in.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fun atmosphere, great downstairs pub, and the best outdoor patio service around :) Nothing like a warm evening outside under the stars with a cool pint.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Isle also viewed

 

Been to Irish Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.