We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleburg Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Middleburg Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Middleburg Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   209 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20118   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Elegant and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently spent a night here while visiting the National Sporting Library and Museum for a special exhibit. What a lovely jewel of a country inn. The innkeeper was hosting a wine and cheese hour when I arrived, so before I settled into my room I had a lovely chilled glass of Chardonnay. What a great way to start a visit! My room was on the top (3rd) floor, so I was glad I had only a small tote for luggage, but the owner did offer to help carry it for me if needed. The room looked out onto the main street on one side and the back lawn and neighboring cemeteries on the other side. Huge comfy bed, well-appointed bathroom. Very quiet at night - I think Middleburg goes to sleep after the horses are bedded down for the night. Lavish breakfast. Ample parking. I hope I have the opportunity to go back some time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
60
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked one night in this charming country inn for a weekend getaway. We selected it because it had a smaller number of room. We were so lucky. The place is beautiful, the room comfortable. There is a beautiful garden in which one can relax, breakfast was delicious and ice cream available as a snack during the day. JoAnn and Kevin are a wonderful couple who gave us restaurant recommendations and activity ideas. We recommend highly and plan to return for a longer visit, in the future.

Room Tip: We selected the Montpelier room which overlooks the main street but noise was not an issue. The inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

JoAnn and Kevin were brilliant hosts, JoAnn is so friendly and was always available with advice, recommendations, directions, whatever was need to to explore the beautiful Virginian countryside and wineries.

This is a really charming inn, with quaint rooms, very good breakfasts, plus lovely gardens and deck area, it's also ideally located for walking to Middleburg's shops and restaurants. We had a really good evening meal at The Red Fox Inn, the service was excellent.

This was a delighful two night stay at the end of our trip around Virginia, the inn being well placed for the short drive back to Washington Dulles airport.

Our thanks to everbody at the inn for making our stay relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the property, no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Close enough to go for a quick break, but feels like you are far from the city. Our room was perfect, breakfast both mornings was great, especially the lemon pound cake (thanks for the recipe:)). Walked to dinner both nights. JoAnn gave great suggestions for places to go nearby. We took her advice and had a really nice day. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor, either one are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our stay at the Middleburg Country Inn was as close to perfect as we could imagine. The hosts were outstanding in every way, thoughtful, friendly, personable, and they still run a tight ship: everything gets done, and gets done on time. We stayed three nights, and although we had some things we planned to do, the hosts had some wonderful recommendations for additional things unique to the period of our stay, such as a county-wide independent tour of local artists' studios. I can't think of any negatives, except... if they keep getting these kinds of reviews, it's going to be harder to get a reservation for return trips!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I just returned from our annual girl's trip and we stayed 5 days at the Middleburg Country Inn. Joann and Kevin were great hosts. Breakfast started with fresh fruit cup followed by a choice of several entrees and finished with Joann's famous lemon pound cake. The eggs benedict were probably the best I've ever had. Two of us stayed in the Oatlands room on the first floor. Because it faced the front, I was a little worried about road noise, but that wasn't the case at all. The inn was beautifully decorated with many period pieces. It was very clean and well cared for. We also loved sitting outside on the beautiful deck. Joann and Kevin had many great suggestions of places to eat and tour. The central location was very convienient to many attractions. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Oatlands room was on the main floor, therefore no steps are needed. The king sized bed was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came to this wonderful bed and breakfast to celebrate our anniversary. Joann and Kevin (the owners) were wonderful and very accommodating. They made suggestions of restaurants, farms and wineries to go to. We only stayed for one night, and the room was very cozy and welcoming. The breakfast the next day was wonderful. You have to try Joann's lemon cake and cookies. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middleburg Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleburg Country Inn

Also Known As:
Middleburg Country Hotel
Middleburg Country Hotel Middleburg
Country Inn Middleburg
Address: 209 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20118
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middleburg Country Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Middleburg Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleburg Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.