We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleburg Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Middleburg Country Inn to your Saves list
Middleburg Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   209 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Columbia, MD
1 review
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn as part of a wedding party. We were greeted with fresh, homemade cookies upon check in. We stayed in the Oatlands room and the bed was super comfortable. JoAnn and Kevin couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The Inn has such a homey feel. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to get away for the weekend....it's also within walking distance to the restaurants and shops. A+++++

  • Liked — The homey feel
  • Disliked — It was a little far from the wedding site
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

We stayed at the inn for 2 nights for our anniversary. Joann was wonderful and she gave us recommendations for everything from restaurants to routes to wineries. We were also interested in a local landmark that she was not aware of. She researched online for awhile to find details and directions to the landmark for us. Our room was very comfortable. Even though the inn is on the main street, there is no traffic at night, so we did not have to worry about noise. We had dinner at the French Hound (Joann's recommendation) which was excellent. Middleburg is a welcoming town; everyone was so nice. We would definitely recommend staying in Middleburg as a base for exploring the local wineries and other attractions.

  • Liked — The eggs benedict!
  • Disliked — The room was a bit small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend to relax a bit and this was the place! The accomodations were great and JoAnn and Kevin were wonderful. We were served freshly made chocolate chip cookies upon our arrival. They made us reservations at a local restaurant for the evening and were the perfect hosts. The Inn is right on the main street in Middleburg and is a short walk to the local shops and restaurants. They have plenty of parking for guests. We stayed in the Sully room and found it very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious! As if they hadn't done enough, Kevin planned out an itinerary for us to see some other quaint towns in the area the next day. We definitely plan to go back again soon!

  • Liked — The hosts and delicious breakfast.
  • Disliked — Could hear cars going down the street at night when trying to sleep.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Had a nice two night stay here in August to celebrate an anniversary and to sample Virginia wine country. We stayed in the Belle Grove room which is a large, well-appointed room at the top of the inn. Large, nice bath, and a good bed. JoAnn and Kevin were very helpful, giving advice and directions to wineries and area sights. They also helped make dinner reservations (which seemed hardly necessary in Middleburg during the slow season, but a nice thoughtful touch anyway). I recommend this as a great home base for exploring the wineries and other sights of northern Virginia.

  • Liked — Quiet location. Great staff.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Only by chance did I find this wonderful, wonderful place. When my original Inn of choice was booked they referred me here. And I am so glad they did!

The location is perfect and in walking distance of all that Middleburg has to offer. The rooms are beautifully and romantically finished. Quaint, designed to the period with high canopied beds with lush bedding.

Much more a home than a hotel, the Middleburg Country Inn has a library of books, videos, newspapers and magazines. The homemade breakfast served daily is not to be missed. One traveler called Jo Anne's cheese omlette the "best he has had in all of the world!" Well, I just had to give it a try! And while I have not been all over the world, it is one of the best I have eaten (and don't forget the bacon as well!)

You can get freshly baked cookies at the check-in area, or help yourself to ice cream stocked in the freezer. Or if your timing is good, join the Innkeeper for glass of wine.

I have stayed there many times with my daughter and while we will soon be buying a house in Middleburg we will come up with reason to make a return visit. You can be reassured in making a recommendation to friends and/or family or do yourself a favor and try it for a wonderful weekend respite!

Heidi and Connery Cole

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed over the weekend of May 19-20. The owners were very nice, the room with the jacuzzi upstairs was very nice (but a little on the small side), and breakfast the next day was great. This is a great place to go for a romantic weekend.

  • Liked — Food and ambience
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

Rooms in the Middleburg Country Inn are presidential in name and in comfort. Outstanding are the breakfasts prepared and served by the attentive innkeeper. The Inn is within walking distance of the many quality shops and restaurants in this charming town. We have stayed there twice, and when the weather suited, enjoyed the outdoor seating under a spreading tree.
One of us has certain medical problems requiring supplies and equipment. The innkeeper was most understanding and helpful,
graciously accommodating these needs. We will certainly visit again.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — steps to access
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middleburg Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleburg Country Inn

Address: 209 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20118
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middleburg Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Middleburg Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middleburg Country Hotel Middleburg
Country Inn Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleburg Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.