We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salamander's Gold Cup Wine Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Cup Wine Bar

Gold Cup Wine Bar
500 N Pendleton St, Middleburg, VA
+1 540-687-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Description: Located within Salamander Resort and Spa and open to the public. Small plates of Piedmont-inspired cuisine are paired to the selection of both featured Virginia wines and international selections, then served throughout the day and evening. Whether you enjoy wine by the glass or as a tasting flight as you converse with the visiting winemakers, you will leave our Gold Cup Wine Bar with a much better understanding of Virginia and Middleburg wine country history and why it has earned its place among best wine regions in the US.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salamander's Gold Cup Wine Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have visited this restaurant on several occasions and have always received excellent service from bartenders Nick and Stuart, and the manager, Ali Ndiour.

I have tried several of their entrees and appetizers, all of which were very good. I love the Shrimp and Grits. Mr. Ndiour checked on us several times throughout the evening to ensure we were being treated well. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Risotto balls were tasteless. Grits ok but shrimp smothered in too much sauce. Gnocchi unidentifiable as such by look or taste, duck confit ragout really unexceptional. The fish tacos were good, once our server got the order right. When we ordered, our server asked if we were sharing, we answered yes. However, we had to wait after being served to get our share plates. Entrees arrived,but not before appetizers had been cleared, and again we had to wait for share plates (and silverware). When our check arrived we still had dirty dishes on the table. Shame on you Salamander, for allowing your guest to receive such substandard service. Needless to say, I won't be back. Todd English? Really? You're associating your name with this restaurant? How embarassing for you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seven valleys, pa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Staying at the salamander, so we thought we'd give it a try. Perhaps the staff does not care for serving families. The hostess looked at our children (aged 10 & 15) who were not poorly dressed (compared to other diners) and said she could not seat us until 9 pm (despite there being many empty tables). When we finally were seated, we did enjoy the saxophone player (who we were pretty much seated right beside making any sort of conversation impossible).

Service was SLOW. Our food came out cold and simple requests (like no butter and onions on the steak) went ignored.

Whomever posted the photo of the cheese plate clearly had a better experience than I. Ours looked nothing like that!

Sadly, the best part of our meal was the fries. The "smoked hay" gnocchi dish was also ok.

The food selection was quite limited. The wines offered were good though.

As mentioned by other reviewers, service does seem to be an issue at the Salamander. You are better off running a tab at the bar to enjoy a glass of wine while enjoying your time on the patio or lawn.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First rate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The gold cup has excellent food, and offers flights of Virginia wines that are superb. We chose a variety of appetizers, sushi (fresh and beautiful), light entrees and some of the desserts. The wine was so good (from local wineries) that we visited some of the wineries afterward. The grounds are worth a stroll.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Place to Wind Down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a great afternoon exploring Middleburg and on our return to the Salamander Resort and Spa, stopped by the Wine Bar. We had eaten the night before at Goodstone and had decided to go "lite" with our dinner this evening. We actually stopped by just for a glass of wine before figuring out what we would do the rest of the evening, and ended up spending several hours here.

We had noticed from the evening before that the Wine Bar was a gathering place of sorts, and tonight was no different. Folks on vacation at this wonderful resort seem comfortable in their own skins and are exceeding friendly as is the resort staff.

The bar is classic "hunt club" theme, very comfortable seating all around, pool table in the back room, all of which give the space great ambiance. I was a little surprised at the limited wine selection from the bar menu, but they offered and brought the wine list from Harriman's. This actually didn't help because the restaurant's wine list had few bargains. I ended up choosing the CA cabernet which was very nice and not too pricey, $56. We ordered several appetizers over the course of two hours and they were all very good. Nothing I would pick out to rave about, but very good. The most fun was chatting with miscellaneous guests. I didn't see anyone not having fun.

So if you are staying at the Salamander or are just visiting Middleburg for the day, stop by the Gold Cup Wine Bar for a glass of your favorite grape and expect to have some fun and tasty food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Cup Wine Bar also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Gold Cup Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Cup Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.