We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamander Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Salamander Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salamander Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Finksburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I went to the Salamander for a weekend get-away to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary. We could not have had a better experience! The resort is beautiful, staff are completely on point, and food was great. We definitely will be going back!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Blue Ribbon suite, which was enormous! Very well appointed, comfortable and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Happy belated anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to share comments with others regarding your visit with us. We look forward to hosting your stay again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    66
    35
    15
    18
See reviews for
58
138
17
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Salamander as a spot to celebrate our daughter's second birthday. Every last detail was tended to and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Michelle, the Pastry Chef, was kind enough to create custom cupcakes that met our daughter's palate preferences (and were probabilly the best I have ever had in my life). Chelsea and Jarrett at the front desk always took time to provide us with recommendations of where to dine in town. We loved exploring the local town and really enjoyed that it was within walking distance from the resort. Laura and Michael at the pool were so fun. They presented our daughter a tray
of birthday posicles to choose from and even took time to teach her a variety of high fives/dance moves. We literally never opened a door because we were always greeted by a kind face. Cody kindly helped with our bags on multiple occasions. Paul was not only a doorman but perhaps the resort's most hidden gem. He provided local history and insight. He had such a kind soul and interesting story to tell.

We would definitely recommend this resort to other and consider returning for another stay. Thank you to all thr staff who made our stay great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to share your comments with others. We pride ourselves on hiring the best service professionals possible and we appreciate the time you took to recognize them. I will share your comments with them during our morning meeting today - thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Salamander Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The resort is beautiful and a good trip if you want to relax but there is not a lot to do and practically nothing for the children, everything is very expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything. We had trouble with getting an appointment to the spa for a treatment that was supposed to be included in our package also our luggage was removed from our room by mistake with no explanation given as to why. The rooms were gorgeous and very nicely furnished but for the price I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking time to comment about your recent visit. Needless to say, we wish your experience had been much more enjoyable. We pride ourselves on providing the best service to all of our guests and we fell short during your visit. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and hope that if your travel plans do have you visiting the area again, you will give us another chance to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Salamander is designed and built to the highest standards. Construction details are magnificent hardwood doors and cabinets and hardware that is much too good to be available readily in the marketplace. Service was spectacular. Common areas resemble museum quality floors, wall treatments and furnishings. Room was luxurious and spotlessly clean. Staff was friendly and most attentive I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Sleep tight. You will love this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to hear how about all of the amenities and features you were able to enjoy and that our staff's friendliness & attentiveness was, "...the best you have experienced". We hope you are able to come back for a visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have to admit that I was skeptical about this resort. It seemed to me that it didn't really fit in to the location and was a little too slick for this area. However, the incredibly warm staff coupled with an attention to detail created a very nice experience. My small office management staff had a short retreat at the resort, located just about short drive from the DC area. There was ample public space both inside and outside for informal meetings. The resort is very close (walking distance) to Middleburg, so it is very convenient to enjoy meals off-site. We ended with some spa treatments that were very well done. We had a great deal through travelzoo, but I think we will probably return in the future even absent the discounts. While all of the staff were terrific, we were especially pleased by the attention provided by Chelsea at the reception desk and Natalia, the massage therapist. Tips? Go into Middleburg for breakfast (there are plenty of coffee shops), request Natalia for a massage, plan to spend a few hours before or after the spa treatment enjoying the steam room and the outdoor infinity pool, be prepared for some of the resort to close early (the fitness center and all of the pools close about 6), self parking is no problem and close enough that you can drag you bags in if you pack lightly, and go for a short drive over to Hunter's Head in Upperville for a casual dinner and a pint!

Room Tip: We had a ground level terrace room with a nice patio, but it looks like all of the rooms have advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for that lovely review and your support and confidence in Salamander Resort & Spa. We are so pleased that you and your colleagues were able to enjoy some relaxing time at our spa after all your work was completed. Thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at the Salamander on August 6 to 8. Very friendly staff from check-in to check-out. The bellman Joey was very friendly and patient and made the effort to learn about me during our walk from the front desk to my room. He then went over the functions of the room which I appreciated. Our stay was brief, but I made maximum use of the spa services and it was so delightful and relaxing that I dozed off in the relaxation room. The spa attendants, especially the attendant who first greets guests in the women's locker room, were very friendly and on the day I was there, August 7th, worked really hard to service all guests with a smile and as quickly as possible even though they were booked back to back. The rooms were very well appointed, however, the terrace level did not have much of a view. When I return, I will definitely reserve a room on the 2nd or third floor. The bathroom amenities were luxurious and I enjoyed the massage shower heads. For those who are horse lovers or equestrians, you will love this horse-themed property. You cannot escape pictures of horses or horse saddles or accessories. If you are a book lover, you will appreciate the quaintness of the library. I had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Book room on a higher floor to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience on TripAdvisor. We understand our guests expect incredible service and we are proud to deliver! We look forward to earning your loyalty and welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed overnight after a very relaxing day at the spa. It could not have been more enjoyable! We sat by the private pool and had lunch. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a patio overlooking the green.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamander Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;