We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salamander resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salamander Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Salamander Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Salamander Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Woodbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salamander resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The resort is beautiful and a good trip if you want to relax but there is not a lot to do and practically nothing for the children, everything is very expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything. We had trouble with getting an appointment to the spa for a treatment that was supposed to be included in our package also our luggage was removed from our room by mistake with no explanation given as to why. The rooms were gorgeous and very nicely furnished but for the price I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking time to comment about your recent visit. Needless to say, we wish your experience had been much more enjoyable. We pride ourselves on providing the best service to all of our guests and we fell short during your visit. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and hope that if your travel plans do have you visiting the area again, you will give us another chance to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    90
    46
    18
    22
See reviews for
81
185
19
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Salamander is designed and built to the highest standards. Construction details are magnificent hardwood doors and cabinets and hardware that is much too good to be available readily in the marketplace. Service was spectacular. Common areas resemble museum quality floors, wall treatments and furnishings. Room was luxurious and spotlessly clean. Staff was friendly and most attentive I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Sleep tight. You will love this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to hear how about all of the amenities and features you were able to enjoy and that our staff's friendliness & attentiveness was, "...the best you have experienced". We hope you are able to come back for a visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have to admit that I was skeptical about this resort. It seemed to me that it didn't really fit in to the location and was a little too slick for this area. However, the incredibly warm staff coupled with an attention to detail created a very nice experience. My small office management staff had a short retreat at the resort, located just about short drive from the DC area. There was ample public space both inside and outside for informal meetings. The resort is very close (walking distance) to Middleburg, so it is very convenient to enjoy meals off-site. We ended with some spa treatments that were very well done. We had a great deal through travelzoo, but I think we will probably return in the future even absent the discounts. While all of the staff were terrific, we were especially pleased by the attention provided by Chelsea at the reception desk and Natalia, the massage therapist. Tips? Go into Middleburg for breakfast (there are plenty of coffee shops), request Natalia for a massage, plan to spend a few hours before or after the spa treatment enjoying the steam room and the outdoor infinity pool, be prepared for some of the resort to close early (the fitness center and all of the pools close about 6), self parking is no problem and close enough that you can drag you bags in if you pack lightly, and go for a short drive over to Hunter's Head in Upperville for a casual dinner and a pint!

Room Tip: We had a ground level terrace room with a nice patio, but it looks like all of the rooms have advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for that lovely review and your support and confidence in Salamander Resort & Spa. We are so pleased that you and your colleagues were able to enjoy some relaxing time at our spa after all your work was completed. Thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at the Salamander on August 6 to 8. Very friendly staff from check-in to check-out. The bellman Joey was very friendly and patient and made the effort to learn about me during our walk from the front desk to my room. He then went over the functions of the room which I appreciated. Our stay was brief, but I made maximum use of the spa services and it was so delightful and relaxing that I dozed off in the relaxation room. The spa attendants, especially the attendant who first greets guests in the women's locker room, were very friendly and on the day I was there, August 7th, worked really hard to service all guests with a smile and as quickly as possible even though they were booked back to back. The rooms were very well appointed, however, the terrace level did not have much of a view. When I return, I will definitely reserve a room on the 2nd or third floor. The bathroom amenities were luxurious and I enjoyed the massage shower heads. For those who are horse lovers or equestrians, you will love this horse-themed property. You cannot escape pictures of horses or horse saddles or accessories. If you are a book lover, you will appreciate the quaintness of the library. I had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Book room on a higher floor to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience on TripAdvisor. We understand our guests expect incredible service and we are proud to deliver! We look forward to earning your loyalty and welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed overnight after a very relaxing day at the spa. It could not have been more enjoyable! We sat by the private pool and had lunch. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a patio overlooking the green.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'll echo the previous comments about the beauty & luxury of the resort both inside and out. It's a great location for a getaway from DC.

The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, however, there is a major drawback. As noted by a recent commenter, our room had very thin walls and we heard everything in the next room late into the night. In our case, it happened to be teenage kids arguing and cursing (I hear them clear as a bell right now at 2 P.M). I'm not sure how Salamander can overcome such a flaw. This is simply unacceptable for a property that seeks to establish itself as a premier destination.

The fitness, spa facilities are top notch and the common areas within the hotel were thoughtfully designed and comfortably furnished. The family pool area is adequate but does not have the set up service we've enjoyed at other fine resorts. There is a quiet pool but it is only available to spa clientele.

The concierge desk was very responsive when I called in advance of our stay to arrange for flowers to be in our room upon arrival and my wife loved them. Finally, while the service from reception and the bell desk was congenial is took more than one phone try to actually get through in order to have our luggage delivered.

All in all, despite many upsides, I'm not sure I would return due to the thinness of the room walls and potential for an uncomfortable night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. I sincerely apologize for the challenges during your stay. If you would please reach out to me, I would be happy to research the shortfalls you encountered. You can reach me directly via e-mail at gm@salamanderresort.com. I look forward to being of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great family retreat. The staff went the extra mile meet our every need. The rooms were luxurious with top of the line bedding and amenities. Public areas were elegant but yet offered the comforts of being in your own home. There were indoor and outdoor activities for all ages. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Salamander Resort & Spa. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamander Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.