We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamander Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Salamander Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Salamander Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Westerville
1 review
“Go to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The property is amazing and all of the food is top notch. The staff is nothing but pleasant and they make you feel at home. The car service they offer while you stay makes seeing the charming town of Middleburg easy and fun. We will be back soon. We are taking about returning every year on our anniversary.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend anything. The rooms were constructed with only the most luxurious touches items...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. We are happy to provide a luxury setting an hour from Washington that still ties in with the charm of the village of Middleburg. We are delighted you are planning future trips to our resort and making us part of your anniversary celebrations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    91
    47
    18
    22
See reviews for
81
187
19
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I can't say enough about the level of service at the Salamander. There were smiling faces around every corner. The little touches made a difference: evening turndown service (scones), coffee in the lobby in the AM, orange pineapple juice in the early afternoon, robes, slippers, and luxurious bathroom amenities. We sincerely enjoyed our down time with chess in the library and scrabble in the parlor. The grounds are beautiful, and walking paths worth exploring. The bathroom deserves it's own review: plush, wonderful amenities, multihead shower, soaking tub, getting ready every day was quite the experience. The adults only pool (near the spa), was very relaxing, use of cabanas will be an extra charge, however. The Salamander resort made our anniversary memorable, we will definitely return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. We are so happy you enjoyed your second anniversary with us and we hope that you will join us again for many more to come! Our Owner's attention to detail is what we hope will set us apart and we appreciate you noticing. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My mom and I spent the day at Salamander Resort & Spa a few weeks ago while she was visiting me in DC. We loved the welcoming and relaxing environment. A great getaway! Looking forward to staying the entire weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience on Trip Advisor. We love to hear about family visits and are so glad you and your mother had a relaxing weekend. We look forward to earning your
loyalty and welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights with another couple and enjoyed ourselves tremendously! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was perfect. Nice patio with beautiful view. Loved the bathtub. Enjoyed our meal at Harriman's; we had Filet Mignon, Ribeye steak, asparagus, fries, Caprese salad, potato gratin. Had a pedicure at the spa that was nice but not outstanding. We had wine and the cheese board in the Billiards Room which was very good. The zipline tour was amazing! Highly recommend it! Enjoyed a game of crochet and sat at the fire pit in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure taking care of your hospitality needs while you were here for with your friends for a "couples getaway". Our Tree Top Zip Tour opened just this July the 4th and are we delighted you enjoyed it! We promise the zip tour will be absolutely dazzling when the Fall foliage arrives and we hope to see you and your friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The staff are welcoming and outstanding from the time you enter the gates of the resort. The sustomer service is a !@ ...it is well beyond at 10. Go and enjoy the experience of appreciation and relalxation

Room Tip: Beautiful and the beds are comfortable. The private shower and jets are AAMAZING. They feel so relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I will share them with our staff in our morning meeting as I am sure it will put a bigger smile on everyone's faces. We appreciate your trust and patronage, and we’ll do our best to always give you and all of our guests the kind of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We picked 4th of July weekend to try Salamander Resort as a get-away from the WDC area on a crowded holiday weekend in a direction that wouldn't involve horrible traffic and lots of tedious travel. We're a couple, traveling without kids on an adult vacation. The main amenity we wanted was a lovely, serene, outdoor pool for a summer weekend. We found one at Salmander. We booked the Bed & Breakfast package at $625/night. We were told that it included wireless, parking, breakfast each morning, a special Sunday brunch with unlimited Bloody Marys and Mimosas that was normally $40/person, access to the pool (I specifically asked) and parking. Well, sort of...

First, the good stuff. It is a nice hotel. We really don't like big, showy resorts and we thought this one was nicer and more tasetful than most of those over-the-top family resorts in Mexico and other beach destinations. It was a nice, friendly atmosphere with families, kids, dogs (a nice touch for a country setting), horses, lots of different kinds of people and a very friendly staff. Not at all a stuck-up place and more casually elegant than most of its kind. The setting is lovely; we enjoyed the 20 minute walk into town and trolling around town, walking to the stables to see the horses and thought the room and bathroom were spacious and nice. There were fireworks and (due to very strange weather) huge fires in the main lobby areas and outdoor firepits (very crowded). LOTS of activities for children, so I can see why families come here.

What we didn't like or appreciate (the minor stuff first of which the staff reading this should be aware):
We had some relatively minor bumps at the outset which can mostly be attributed to a staff training problems. 1) No-one was at the door when we arrived and we got lost and someone finally directed us to the check-in desk 2) Our name was seriously misspelled which screwed up the process--even though I had emailed about the error in advance (it was a phone reservation) 3) We were immediately directed to make our dining reservations since it was a holiday weekend: No dinner available all weeekend, so we tried to make breakfast reservations. The dining room staff wondered if we wanted the menu or breakfast bar and we replied, "whichever comes with our B&B package." They didn't know and sent us back to the front desk who replied "either one." Then, we wanted to make Sunday brunch reservations--we booked at 10AM. But wait, doesn't that sign say brunch starts at 11AM? Well, they said its brunch and you get breakfast. Back to front desk. No, we get brunch on Sunday and have to book at 11AM. More on that later...

Next, to the bar for a drink. After looking over the menu, my husband orders the "Dark and Stormy"--out of Ginger beer, so can't make it. In fact, the waitress adds, "we've never had ginger beer." OK. So, he orders some other special drink. They don't have that either--don't carry it, even though it is on the menu. So, he settles for the same bottled beer we buy at Safeway at home. They had that.

To the room: Phones didn't work. All night, they flashed on and off until my husband threw his under a pillow. The message light was on, but no message. We couldn't call for any service or reservations. So, we let them know and a phone guy came up and "reset" the phones and says that it "always" happens because the maids put the wrong phone back in the wrong cradle. Ok. Once we located the TV remote in the bathroom where it went back each evening (?), the TV worked, but not the viewing of the invoice or any other functionality.

Now, the more serious:
As I mentioned, we were in search of a lovely, outdoor, serene pool for the weekend. There is just an outdoor infinity pool with covered cabanas on the Salamander website and I checked that "the pool" (the only one pictured or described anywhere on the website) was included in our room. When we tried to use the pool, we were directed to another pool (not pictured or mentioned on the website, called the "Resort Pool" and referred to as "the family pool"). You guessed it, loud, noisy, blaring music, fountains, screaming kids--the old blue and concrete family favorite we all grew up with. After trying to stand it, I got up and went to the reservationists, iPad in hand. I got referred up the chain 2 more layers and finally a woman in a management capacity from the Spa sat down with me. She explained (as I had heard repeatedly) that there is indeed "a pool" included in my room, it's the Resort Pool, not the one pictured on the website. The pool pictured is a "Spa Pool" and limited only to those getting spa treatments. However, she would compromise and for $40 per day, we could use the pool, if we used nothing else. I whipped out the iPad and toghther we reviewed every photo and every line of text on the website, including the Fact Sheets and the spa descriptions and, as uncomfortable as it made her, she could not claim that there was anything except the spa pool pictured or described with no mention of the other pool, or even that there was more than one pool. I told her that they had an excellent opportunity to inform me of a situation they already know about when I confirmed the pool upon making the reservation. A simple, "yes, a pool is included but it is not the one picutured on the website" would have sufficed. Bottom line, she reluctantly agreed, after over an hour of negotiating, to let us use the pool (if we did not use anything else and did not stop or linger or anything else on the way to and fro). So, we did. The staff there told us that the misunderstanding "happens all the time" and they all agreed that the website needs to change. The last thing you want on your vacation or destress weekend is to have to haggle over stuff like this--ESPECIALLY when they are already aware of the problem!

Next, Sunday brunch. Turns out that the entire brunch and unlimited drinks is not really included. You get a $50 per person credit that does not cover the $60 (not $40) brunch where the unlimited drinks are an extra $16 per person. That's actually pretty generous, if you hadn't been told something else. It made little difference in the end, except that the waitstaff had to go research it to tell us what the deal was (again, she just didn't know). Plus, the food wasn't all that good and was extremely caloric and did not have very good healthy choices. Not at all impressed with the food.

Most important, we felt nickel and dimed and, more seriously, misled. I would not go back for that price.

I highly recommend a very gracious, lovely Inn down the road called Goodstone Inn--on a several hundred acre farm with animals and a stable (including pig and llama), a very lovely, serene outdoor pool, a spa and a restaurant that gets recognition from everything from Gourmet Magazine to Conde Nast Traveller--and deserves it--wood fireplaces, etc-and, guess what? The very lovely rooms located in the main house and in the cottages strewn throughout the buccolic, farm/estate setting are HUNDREDS of $$ cheaper than Salamander! We'll be going back there to our old favorite and appreciating it all the more. They have fantastic cottages where you can rent only the lovely rooms (not the entire cottage). Also, for a slightly snootier experience, Keswick in Charlottesville offers a wonderful setting, golf, spa, a super lovely outdoor infinity pool (and indoor pool) for less than Salamander. I think Salamander is better for families but is very overpriced, given the amenities, and they need to improve their training of staff.

Room Tip: Some have fireplaces and some balconies. Ours had a balcony, no fireplace and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. I sincerely apologize for the challenges during your stay. If you would please reach out to me, I would be happy to research the shortfalls you encountered. You can reach me directly via e-mail at gm@salamanderresort.com . I look forward to being of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went to the Salamander overnight and had a great experience. It's a beautiful property. I recommend the cooking studio for something fun. Food is delicious. I was surprised at how well appointed my room was. They seem to have thought of everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments with others. Our Cooking Studio has become a big hit and we are delighted you enjoyed this experience. We have different classes offered each month, so please visit our website to see the upcoming classes! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamander Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.