We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamander Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Salamander Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Salamander Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending a day at Salamander Spa & Resort in Middleburg, VA. This was not an overnight visit, however, I would like to share my experience with Trip Advisor readers. The purpose of my visit was for a Spa Day with my two daughters. Immediately upon arrival, we were treated like royalty. The Spa check in was great and the Spa facilities are top notch. We were given a private dining room for our spa lunch and the staff was very accommodating with my request to bring a special bottle of our favorite champagne. The food exceeded our expectations. The spa itself is state of the art with the very best amenities, including heated Tepidarium loungers, hydrotherapy pool and steam room. The Spa Technicians are very professional, knowledgable and courteous. The Spa staff is attentive to every need and the spa products used during our treatments were luxurious. My skin never felt better. The spa courtyard was able to be enjoyed with the 50+ degree temperatures...the sun and the fire pit enhanced our experience. A few guests enjoyed the Infinity Edge Pool which was heated to 85 degrees.
After our day of massages, facials and pedicures we toured the facility and had a cocktail in the hotel lounge called the Gold Cup Wine Bar. The hotel, grounds and common areas are all magnificent.
Our next trip will include a stay at the hotel and a visit to the historic business district in Middleburg with it's many fine shoppes and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you, from the entire team at Salamander Resort & Spa. We love to hear from a guest that had an experience like you did, it makes our week! We want all of our guests to feel like they are royalty and exceed every service expectation. We want to thank you for taking the time to share about your visit on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    125
    68
    28
    30
See reviews for
115
252
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
AllThings0777
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our first visit to Salamander’s spa was fantastic! My therapist was simply amazing. Tho’ the décor sort of reminded me of Spa Minerale at Lansdowne, everything was new and not a detail left unturned. The relaxation room was a little bright for my liking, but very well appointed. The Spa was busy and everyone seemed to move about without any problems. I also enjoyed seeing a diversified staff, one of the things that really stood out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Salamander Resort & Spa while enjoying our Spa treatments. We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

One of my friends recommended this place for afternoon tea with the ladies. What an enjoyable experience. The resort has just recently opened (Sept. '13) yet it gives the flavor of having been there for a while. Very elegant. Although I did not stay overnight, I did have an opportunity to spend some time in one of the double queen rooms. It was quite large and luxurious!! Afternoon tea was excellent as well. It was cozy and sophisticated at the same time. The sweet and savory hors d’oeuvres were delicious. Our server was very gracious and accommodating as were all of the staff we encountered throughout the day. Their price for tea was quite reasonable. I will definitely visit the Salamander Resort again. Planning a stay in the spring with hubbie for a nice weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Afternoon Tea has been a somewhat newer addition to Salamander Resort & Spa and we are so pleased you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you and your husband this spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rungsted
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Salamander and the staff made our stay great. We visited in September and though some problems arose we sorted it out with the management. We chose this hotel as a high point on our trip from Denmark.Make sure to visit Fern Bratten in the Salamander Touch shop. She is second to none and provided a great service. We looking forward to our return visit and see which soul the hotel has adopted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your sharing your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my 4th stay at this wonderful resort. Quite frankly I'm hooked on the place. My thanks to Dr Johnson for the style, design, and attention to detail in every area of Salamander.

In this review, my first, I have to give a special thanks to a few of the remarkable staff members who have gone out of their way to remember my name and make me feel like a member of the Salamander Family each visit--
Maritsa at the front desk, who offers a welcome that confirms that you have arrived at the right place.

Then there is the great duo of Alioune and Corey keeping us happy in the Gold Cup every visit, each utilizing charm and a professional manner which bids you to come back.

I can't forget Laura, Eric and Taylor in Harriman's, who exhibit the customer service you want in a fine dining establishment.

And as it should be, upper mgmt sets the standard. Carlos is often seen checking on guests and his staff.

Kudos to all Salamander Staff for a job well done.

Salamander isn't just a hotel, it is an experience that doesn't disappoint from check-in to check-out

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you, from the entire team at Salamander Resort & Spa. Our passion is hospitality and service and to hear from a return guest that had an experience like you did makes our week! We want all of our guests to feel like they are royalty and exceed every service expectation. We want to thank you for taking the time to share about your visit on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

After a lot of consideration for where to propose to my girlfriend, I chose The Salamander. I've stayed at other resorts within driving distance of DC/MD, but decided to give The Salamander a try which was somewhat of a roll of the dice based on the importance of the trip - proposing Valentine's evening. Laura Zimmerman was phenomenal in assisting me to arrange the place within the resort to propose (the beautiful Living Room), the time, and an awesome set-up of music, wine and cheese. The entire staff led by GM Trey Matheu was very friendly, attentive, and outgoing whether they knew of our event or not. The entire resort is beautiful inside and out...we took the short 15 minute walk into Middleburg after we arrived, enjoyed the beautifully appointed and spacious room for the limited amount of time we spent in it, and the fitness facility and pool are first class! We were in every area of the resort - the library, living room, lounges (had a great time shooting pool), and Harrington's. The only area we didn't get to was the spa which I'm sure we'll get to on future visits, and I predict that will be many in the years to come! I can't thank the Salamander staff enough for helping us have a wonderful time and help create great memories! PS - She said yes!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments with others. Our country estate atmosphere is a favorite among all our guests. We are delighted that you chose Salamander Resort & Spa for your marriage proposal and wish you both much happiness. We look forward to welcoming you and your fiancé back soon. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richomnd va
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

After reading the variety of reviews found here I was happy to find that the negatives mentioned were isolated or over stated. Attention to detail - great. Service and concern about all things - outstanding. Staff professional and courteous. IF YOU have a dog we have never experienced the welcome we had for our Springer. Had a room that opened to the lawn which allowed us to head out each morning and have a run. The trails were something you just can not find anywhere else. The food was outstanding - eating twice at Harrimans. And for fun - eat at Teddy's pizza... be a Jet's fan and have fun with it. Wife and daughter enjoyed the Spa as well.
We have been to some great classic resorts and this one is well on their way.

Room Tip: Back of resort facing the lawn and grounds would be preferred. If you have a dog - this is especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We love our guests (and pet guests!) and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for taking the time to share about your visit on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamander Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.