We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Place--Kid Friendly!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamander Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Salamander Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salamander Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Middleburg
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enchanting Place--Kid Friendly!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am not sure where to begin. From the moment we pulled into the resort with our young Son, my family and I were treated with the service, hospitality and class of a truly world class hotel. From the lunch we had in the lounge area, to the SPA treatment my wife had, to the the AMAZING dinner at Harriman's and then my after dinner drinks and cigar at the outside fire pit, the Salamander delivers. The grounds of the resort stunning, but what makes the resort a true gem is the very well trained and professional staff who have come from 5 star properties around the world. We highly recommend the hotel to everyone who is looking for an amazing getaway and if your kids are in tow, you must take them over to see the horses and ponies...What a real treat!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed all the resort has to offer, from dinning and enjoying the firepits to meeting the ponies or getting a massage! Thank you for sharing your fabulous experience and we hope to welcome you all back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    58
    34
    13
    16
See reviews for
50
122
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I had my second lunch and spa experience at Salamander today and it could not have been more wonderful. My first visit was on September 4th with my husband and we were impressed and really pleased then. The spa is everything that
I want a spa to be, not garish but rather beautifully appointed, tranquil, serene and well equipped, every where you look it is so tastefully done. Today's visit was such a treat because though it was late October we were able to relax outside near the pool area and enjoy the cabanas.
The interior relaxation area room with the inviting off-white chaise style lounge and fireplace is a great place to unwind before your services even begin, I hated to leave for my massage but was glad I did once my much needed massage started. Regarding lunch I wasn't sure what to expect since I had read a few negative reviews but what a treat. There were four if us for lunch and we ordered a variety of items. The service was very attentive and the presentation of our food was picture perfect (one of my friends literally photographed everyone's food). I ordered the dry aged burger, a salad, a sorbet assortment and the freshly made beignets and it was all delicious. My lunch mates were all happy with their choices and we lingered longer than usual enjoying the surroundings before we headed to our spa appointments. What a delightful day, that was simply wonderful, we all agreed that Salamander will become one of our regular spots!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are so excited to have welcomed you back a second time! Thank you for sharing such a lovely review, if you just can't get enough feel free to share photos or keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter @SalamanderVA! We're looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had dinner at Harriman's Restaurant at the resort but was not an overnight guest. This review is for the restaurant only: The service is terrible. The food is mediocre and overpriced. The bartender could not make a simple drink. Skip this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, needless to say we wish it had been a much more positive one. I'd be very interested to hear specifics about your dinner as we are always looking to improve and satisfy our guests. Please feel free to email me at gm@salamanderresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wow! Absolutely beautiful! We sampled fantastic appetizers and wine in the Gold Cup bar and fabulous cuisine in Harriman's dining room and the service throughout the resort was top notch. We timed our visit perfectly as the inaugural Middleburg Film Festival was in full swing and we were able to take in a fine film and do some great people-watching as the charming little town of Middleburg was full of activity. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we are so glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay, the Film Festival and all of our dinning options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a perfect girls weekend. We spent plenty of time in the Gold Cup wine bar and had amazing and friendly service every time. Such a warm and inviting place to spend time with friends. We ended our weekend with dinner in Harriman's. WOW! We ordered several appetizers, entree's and sides to pass around. So delicious and our server never missed a beat. I'm looking forward to another trip to The Salamander... This time with my husband.

On a side note, Middleburg, VA is a great little town. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
You all sound like such a fun group! We are honored that you chose to have your girls weekend with us. We hope you come back soon and can introduce your husband to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversay. We had a lovely experience all around. Check in went smoothly -- they actually upgraded us to a suite in honor of our anniversary and sent champagne and chocolates (complimentary) to our room. Very nice touch. Staff was very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. We especially enjoyed Carlo in the Gold Cup Lounge -- excellent resort employee and manager. The spa is amazing -- we had a couples massage in a private room that included use of an outdoor jacuzzi tub -- loved it and recommend Benita as a massage therapist. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well appointed. Private shuttle service is available into Middleburg upon request -- we used this service once and our driver even refused to be tipped. We sat out by the fire pit on the Grand Lawn in the evenings. Enjoyed that very much with a cocktail in hand. The equestrian center is lovely and well done -- we do not ride, but enjoyed walking through and visiting with the horses and the barn cats. :) No complaints at all. Will definitely stay again in the future. The town of Middleburg is very quaint -- we ate at the Market Salamander and the Red Fox Inn. Would recommend both. I think any of the "quirks" that may have occurred early on upon opening have been worked out.

Room Tip: Suite on the first level is nice as you have your own outdoor seating area and direct access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Happy Anniversary! and thank you for sharing your review. We were excited to help you celebrate and pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your time in Middleburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Expectations are interesting. You expect superior appointments, service, space, food and more at an expensive, upscale resort--after all, you can get a room anywhere but an experience is what you're paying for.

Salamander Resort & Spa is lovely. It looks warm, comforting and expensive all at the same time...not an easy thing to do. The staff was, for the most part, exceptionally nice without being cloyingly sweet. The room (ours was a double queen on the first floor) was amazingly spacious with a bathroom that, in some hotels, might qualify for a single room...scrumptious! And the property building and grounds are wonderful--I spent mornings in front of the fireplace with coffee and newspaper followed by a stroll around the grounds. Those are the superlatives that are included in the experience we were looking for...nice.

The mediocre included the restaurant (definitely need more training for staff). We only had breakfast and, judging from that small sampling, the menu might need a few tweaks. Also ok was the spa experience. It is a beautiful addition to the property but not yet destination-worthy. Taken as a part of the weekend it was good but Red Door Spas have been more relaxing and soothing. Note: the tiled heating beds were fantastic! The questionable staff includes the concierge (she might have just been overwhelmed but we knew more about the area than she seemed to) and the porters who were enthusiastic but a little rough around the edges and, as the first people greeting guests, can set the tone for the entire trip.

Things like lights not working, tv cable trouble, phones (we never did get our phones to work)...I'm confident the resort will work out those little details that, while annoying, we know are part of the opening pains. We chose to go early knowing there would not be perfection that will, I'm sure, be attained with more time and experience.

So set your expectations to the upper part of the scale for the Salamander but give a bit of room for improvements.

Room Tip: The property is BIG. If you don't want to have a long walk to your room make sure you indicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for such honest feedback. Reviews like yours really do help us to pinpoint areas that we need further development and also areas that are important to our guests, like ambiance and experience. We are grateful for your visit and review and we hope to welcome you back shortly so show you our continual improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 North Pendleton Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamander Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.