We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cana Vineyards and Winery

Cana Vineyards and Winery
38600 John Mosby Highway, Middleburg, VA 20117
(703) 348-2458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Middleburg
Attraction details
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

On the way back from Middleburg, my friend and I stopped in to Cana for a tasting. She lives in Arlington, and had been meaning to get to Cana, and used my visit as the perfect excuse. We had a tasting with a very fun and knowledgeable staffer. We then decided to purchase a glass of wine and sit out on the aidorandack chairs on the lawn and listen to the live Celtic music. It was a lovely afternoon and evening, with families picnicking, folks strolling about, listening to the band, etc. I wish we would have been able to stay longer. My friend is going to go back with her family and have a picnic at one of the nice shaded tables on the lawn. This is also a great place for events (there was a corporate gathering going on when we were there). I would highly recommend a stop at Cana. Make an evening out of it on a Friday night when they are open later.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    11
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keyser, West Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent facility, Friendly and knowledgeable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views and a great facility. Wine tasting was very good, with knowledgeable and personable staff. A bit disappointing that they are not using any of their own grapes yet, but I guess everyone has to start somewhere. We didn't really find a wine that suited us, but we did get a nice pair of tasting glasses as souvenirs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“View to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wonderful view, very friendly staff, plenty of room outside. Kids and pets friendly. The only annoying thing is some guys making horrible noise who call them-selves "live music". Luckily they get tired fast and take long breaks to let you enjoy your visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, nice people, dog friendly, wine not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everyone's palate is different, and unfortunately, mine didn't care for the wines at Cana. It's a new winery, so the wines they poured are from grapes purchased from Virginia and California.
While I didn't care for the wine, the location, tasting room and hospitality were wonderful.
It's very close to Middleburg's main street, so very convenient to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and beautiful wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is run by a great family and their vintner continues to present good wines of whites and reds. The hospitality is wonderful with a large patio and lawn and dog friendly. It can be full and it still feels like you are in a cozy place. They have fabulous musicians. Go and enjoy a Sunday afternoon looking at the Wonderful Virginia Mountains.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cana Vineyards and Winery also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Cana Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cana Vineyards and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.