We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, nice people, dog friendly, wine not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cana Vineyards and Winery

Cana Vineyards and Winery
38600 John Mosby Highway, Middleburg, VA 20117
(703) 348-2458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, nice people, dog friendly, wine not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everyone's palate is different, and unfortunately, mine didn't care for the wines at Cana. It's a new winery, so the wines they poured are from grapes purchased from Virginia and California.
While I didn't care for the wine, the location, tasting room and hospitality were wonderful.
It's very close to Middleburg's main street, so very convenient to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    9
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and beautiful wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is run by a great family and their vintner continues to present good wines of whites and reds. The hospitality is wonderful with a large patio and lawn and dog friendly. It can be full and it still feels like you are in a cozy place. They have fabulous musicians. Go and enjoy a Sunday afternoon looking at the Wonderful Virginia Mountains.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster, md
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great wine, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Place sits on a hill just outside Middleburg, Va and the facility is beautiful. We had a bottle of wine, a baguette and two selections of cheese for lunch. Delicious!!! Do not miss it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Better Virginia winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I am not a big fan of Virginia wines found Cana by accident when I was performing a wedding service. Tasted the wine, joined the wine club. After which I brought my wife back she enjoyed as we'll. since than we have shared Cana wines with others and we have never got a bad response. Go by the winery for wine and a cheese basket on Saturday or Sunday. Check them out for Friday night dinners and music you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Needs to Work Out Kinks, Has Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The facility itself was impressive. I was told it started as a hay field and the owners built their ideal winery. The building had plenty of seating indoor and out, great views and a decent size bar. Which brings me to my issue. There were only 7 people in the tasting room, a group of 3 and 2 couples. The person working was allowing the group of 3 to monopolize the bar space, using more than half. I was told I would have to wait. If the place had actually been busy or there had been no room at the bar I could understand but it wasn't the case. The thing that irked me more was the demeanor of the bartender, it seemed more that she couldn't be bothered to start a second tasting. I waited approximately 15 minutes. When I was helped the tasting was nice enough, decent wine, friendly (different) bartender.

In such a wine heavy region this place needs to step up their game. Next time I am passing through this one will probably be on skip list.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cana Vineyards and Winery also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Cana Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cana Vineyards and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.