We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Ingredients, Good Flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Common Grounds

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Common Grounds
114 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Lunch
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients, Good Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had lunch here yesterday (5/31) and it was a great choice. I'd read all of the Middleburg restaurant reviews and, man, they are harsh! It was hard to find a place to take a gamble on since every restaurant seems to have a few blistering reviews. To add to our challenges, we'd decided to bring both dogs and kids for our outing. Obviously that limited the selection somewhat, but we hoped Common Grounds would be okay.

Common Grounds was a great surprise. It was better than anticipated. There is a nice patio full of tables with umbrellas (where we sat with our dogs and kids). Indoors there was nice, casual seating. We ordered inside and our lunches were brought to us. I am very finicky about meat when I order it (was vegetarian for a long time), but I ordered the citrus chicken salad sandwich (not over processed) and it was excellent. My husband's turkey sandwich was made with roasted sliced turkey (not slimy). We each found something tasty on the menu. We enjoyed the selection of upscale sodas (would love to see birch beer). The Route 11 potato chips were a nice local touch.

We'd gladly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Love the people and the coffee. A great place to begin your morning or to have a pause from your busy day. Also one of the only places in Middleburg with wifi

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Name for Community Coffee Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Neat coffee shop on Washington Street. Great for morning coffee or an afternoon break. Good coffee and drink menu and great coffee shop ambiance. People working there are really nice. The morning I visited everyone got a free cup of coffee (later in the afternoon there would be free hamburgers) to thank their clientele for voting them the #2 restaurant in Middleburg on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Another Bust!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I tried CommonGrounds again today for lunch after not visiting since the summer. I ordered the Tuscan Tuna on Greens. Hands down possibly the worst lunch ever. So fishy and the salad greens tasteless. So disappointing once again. My last review sighted that it's a restaurant/ coffee/ tea that doesn't smell like any of those. Same today. No smells. Mostly it seems to be a great place to meet socially or do work. So disappointing on the food side.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Place for Light Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Since we visited on a rainy day, we ate inside. Visitors had been few and we were warmly welcomed. The menu offers breakfast items, as well as a variety of sandwiches and soup. Since we were there for lunch we enjoyed warm sandwiches, good chips, drinks, and pound cake. Prices were moderate. After eating, we shopped among the items for sale---candles, coffee, spicy sauces, etc. The bathroom was spacious and clean and offered thick, soft paper towels for drying hands.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Grounds also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Common Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Common Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.