We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
23130 Briar Patch Lane, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice place that specializes in weddings, but this time was full of a variety of types of nice guests. The location is perfect for that part of Virginia. The rooms are comfortable and the hosts are pleasant. Breakfasts are only average; need more thought in the planning of them. Snacks are available throughout the day. (But the wine in your room isn't free.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! It's fabulous to know that you felt comfortable in your room and that you loved our location. We always feel lucky to live in such a gorgeous surrounding and I'm happy that you loved it, too.

As far as the breakfast goes, thanks for bringing this to my attention. I'll definitely keep your comments in mind for morning meals to come.

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Among the hustle and bustle of metro DC is this amazing little bed and breakfast tucked away in the country that was nothing short of comfy, cozy. The rates were extremely reasonable and the food was delicious! We enjoyed a cooking class that was well above our expectations. After the cooking class, we digested our food in the comfort of the hot tub. In the morning we enjoyed stories with the owners and a breakfast that was superb. Everyone was so friendly! I highly recommend Briar Patch B&B for its value, cleanliness, and comfort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Violet room. We did hear some chatting from the room below us, but the B&B is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are so happy that you found our little spot in Middleburg and we can't thank you enough for writing this wonderful review. It's hard to beat a day full of cooking followed by some time in the hot tub.

Next time you are in need of some R&R, we'd love to see you two again. Just remember: a delicious breakfast awaits!

All the best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I spent a few days @ the Briar patch B&B in Middleburg, VA. It was so relaxing and comfortable at a very reasonable rate. The hot tub was just the ticket after a hard day of vinyard tours and horseback riding. The service is helpful and the breakfast was good. The Briarpatch is a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Faye,

Thank you so much for this review. I'm glad we could give you and your friend a few days of R&R! Hopefully you got to check out some good vineyards nearby. I'll share this with the staff, as well. Let us know if you're ever back in the area—we'd love to host you again!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Home away from home! Kitchen is well stocked for your needs, rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the staff is warm and friendly. You will love it; its located in a wonderful country setting near the quaint town of Middleburg. We would love to go back and do more wine tastings! We had no idea there were so many wineries in Northern VA.

Room Tip: The Sun Flower Rm and Rose Rm combine for the best Suites when traveling with another couple!! Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, Holly. It makes me smile when people say they feel at home here, and of course, the wineries are always a big plus. You'll have to come back to see the rest!

I'll share this with the whole staff. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,610 reviews 1,610 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 452 cities Reviews in 452 cities
1,519 helpful votes 1,519 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This B and B is in a lovely setting on 47 acres on a hill sitting back from the road (Route 50) a few miles east of Middleburg, VA. It started as a one room log cabin in 1805 and was enlarged by the middle 1800s. There are 8 bedrooms-we were in the Violet room on the second floor with the bathroom shared with the adjoining room (bathroom doors could be locked from both sides). The furnishings were simple--a very comfortable king sized bed, two lamps, a heater and robes were available to wear. There is also a large lovely porch with chairs in the front.

On the first floor is a sitting room with a TV, books and magazines, a love seat and chairs. The breakfast room could seat 16 guests--it was a weekend so an excellent breakast was served including french toast and 2 kinds of quiche as well as cereal, fruit, juice, breads, etc. In addition, they provide many kinds of snacks, juice and soft drinks at any time during the day--a very nice touch. On the grounds, there is a hot tub, pool and a number of trails around the property. In a separate building, they have banquet faciilites and there was a wedding rehearsal and dinner the night we stayed.

Briar Patch participated in the program--B and Bs for Vets, where active and retired military veterans can stay a free night on Veterans Day weekend--a wonderful way to give back to those who served in the military. We stayed one night as part of that program and liked Briar Patch so much we booked 2 nights with friends for the spring.

The only negative was that the free high speed wifi did not work for us--we were told in advance that it was slow, but we were unable to use our tablets fo get on the internet.

This is a great place to spend time and explore the lovely surrounding areas of northern Virginia. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks very much for your sweet review! I'm so happy you had a wonderful stay with us. You did a great job hitting all of the unique features that we offer, and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our free night stay for Veteran's Day!

I do apologize if the wifi was slow. That's a rarity, but unfortunately it does happen from time to time. Thanks again, and we looking forward to your visit in the spring!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My cousin & I stayed at Briar Patch B&B in Middleburg, VA in early Oct. We loved our rooms & breakfast & the area was lovely. The only problem was the stink bugs, but the owners tried everything to get rid of them. I'll visit again -- when stink bug season is over.

Room Tip: The Rose Room (2nd floor) was large & comfortable. The downstairs rooms have fireplaces & a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Nellie,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm very happy you had a lovely stay with us and got to check out the area.

I do apologize once more for the stink bugs. They've constantly been increasing in numbers all over Virginia the past few years. We'll just have to continue to find ways to combat them. We'd love to host you again once stink bug season is over!

Best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had a Living Social deal for Briar Patch, and thought, why not? I've always wanted to do a winery tour, and we like Virginia, so...then, my daughter announced her engagement, and we invited them to join us. We had a lovely two days in Northern VA, in a part of the state neither I nor my husband (who is from VA) had ever been to. We had a great time. The staff at Briar Patch was great about updating us on ravel conditions (this was two days after Hurricane Sandy) and were most gracious about calling to check which wineries were open and offering tasting coupons. The Inn itself is in an idyllic setting and is beautifully furnished and well-maintained. As an early bird, I wish that breakfast was offered before 9:00 am, but there are plenty of snacks and coffee and tea available before then, so you won't starve or die of caffeine deprivation. I particularly like the layout of the inn - with several suites upstairs and two nice sitting areas downstairs, plus the dining area, there is plenty of room to spread out. Plus, according to a family friend, it's only an hour out of DC. I would seriously consider staying out here and commuting to the nearest Metro stop on my next visit to DC.

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, ask for a room on the back of the house. The state road the inn is on is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks so much for this glowing review! I really appreciate the comments about our layout and decor. So glad you got to check out a part of Virginia you haven't seen before!

Our only goal of any visit is to make sure you have a wonderful time. We will always be available to make sure you've got what you need to be comfortable and enjoy yourselves. With Sandy, it was a bit more chaotic than usual, but luckily we were still able to make everything work.

Many congrats again to your daughter! We're happy to host you anytime you need to relax.

Best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23130 Briar Patch Lane, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.