We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Waiter Saves the Day--Sort Of” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fox's Den Tavern

Fox's Den Tavern
7 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
(540) 687-4165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 20 restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gracious Waiter Saves the Day--Sort Of”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Granted, we were a group of 10 slightly older citizens--a challenge to any restaurant (the number, not the age!) In order to place tables together, one of our diners had to sit under a dripping AC vent. He moved his plate slightly to the right and let the water drip on the table cloth instead of his food. This was a night where nothing went right but Nick, our waiter, graciously and humorously tried to make things better. The famous "fries" were as ordinary as they come and not hot, merely tepid. Our entrees were a disaster. I ordered rib eye steak, medium rare to rare; it came well, well done. My order included potatoes au gratin. What I got was some gray mass of hard unidentifiable glump that brought rounds of (soft) laughter as we tried to identify it. Those six who ordered duck all said parts of it were cold, the rest merely warm. The lobster mac & cheese smelled so bad--very fishy--the diner couldn't eat it and sent it back. The vegetable of the day (julienned squash) in all 10 cases was half cold, half warm. It took 2 1/2 hours before we got our entrees. Thank goodness for Nick who kept us consoled. Arriving at dessert, they were unfortunately out of what we ordered. A request for an Irish Whiskey brought the fact they didn't have any whipped cream and would have to beat some. Another 20 min. passed before the drink arrived. Coffee was often unavailable. The only other server in the room, when asked for more coffee, became exceptionally rude and strode off. We were stunned into silence. All in all we were in the restaurant for 3 1/2 hrs. Blessings on Nick! Every restaurant should have a Nick to help smooth over the rough moments and treat customers with grace, courtesy, and lots of good humor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    12
    9
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WV & TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nick was their only saving grace!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a disappointment. We were a group of well educated, well traveled seniors who traveled to Middleburg for dinner. We did arrive a little early of our 6:30 reservation. Our table was ready and there were only a few other tables occupied on arrival. We were served drinks and appetizers were ordered. Warm bread was served - one slice per person- with a nice honey herb butter. The bread was never re-supplied even when requested. We had read about the Truffle Fries so 2 orders were place for the table. I admit to not being a FF fan but there was really nothing special about these. I'm not sure they even were all eaten. We were not in a hurry but the waits were ridiclously long - like 1 1/2 hrs to get our entrees. I realize a group can be difficult but the 2-4 tops who all came in later were all getting their meals. Nine of the ten were disappointed with their entrees and at least 2 were unedible. They ran out of coffee twice during dessert and after dinner drinks. Nick our server is obviously inexperienced but has a quick wit and wonderful personality unlike his associate who was very rude when we asked her about the delayed coffee. I doubt the desserts are in-house and they ran out of one of the choices. In all we spent 3 extremely long hours there including the confusion with the bills and credit card mix-ups. In Europe this might not be lengthy but in this case it turned unbearable. Nick was the only saving grace as we probably have left early on. We will not be back however.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good food and service. They aim to please.We went with another couple each of us ordered something different and each of us was pleased.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Satisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a reservation for 7:30- walked in and we were led to an uncleared table which the waitress proceeded to clear one dish at a time. We were told that the place was understaffed and didn't mind waiting but from a former waitress point of view, the staff seemed sort of "inefficient" in terms of getting dishes onto and off the tables. They were however friendly. The appetizers were really good, New Zealand mussel special and a cauliflower soup. The entrees, on the other hand, were horrid. Steak was undercooked and surrounded by a lump of mashed potatoes and carrots that looked like ruffled potato chips and had no flavor at all. Pasta with eggplant and portobella and vegetables was WAY overcooked and swimming in oil, basically inedible besides the pieces of eggplant and portobella mushroom. Decided to cut our losses and skip dessert. Would not recommend at all. Atmosphere ok if you like rustic and very dark.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Cozy Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was a great spot tucked around a corner with sensational food and great service. The bar area in partuclar is very cozy with low ceilings, a few couches, tables and barstools. The owners are charismatic and welcoming and we look forward to coming back soon!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Den Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County

Been to Fox's Den Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox's Den Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.