We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nick was their only saving grace!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fox's Den Tavern

Fox's Den Tavern
7 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
(540) 687-4165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
WV & TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nick was their only saving grace!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a disappointment. We were a group of well educated, well traveled seniors who traveled to Middleburg for dinner. We did arrive a little early of our 6:30 reservation. Our table was ready and there were only a few other tables occupied on arrival. We were served drinks and appetizers were ordered. Warm bread was served - one slice per person- with a nice honey herb butter. The bread was never re-supplied even when requested. We had read about the Truffle Fries so 2 orders were place for the table. I admit to not being a FF fan but there was really nothing special about these. I'm not sure they even were all eaten. We were not in a hurry but the waits were ridiclously long - like 1 1/2 hrs to get our entrees. I realize a group can be difficult but the 2-4 tops who all came in later were all getting their meals. Nine of the ten were disappointed with their entrees and at least 2 were unedible. They ran out of coffee twice during dessert and after dinner drinks. Nick our server is obviously inexperienced but has a quick wit and wonderful personality unlike his associate who was very rude when we asked her about the delayed coffee. I doubt the desserts are in-house and they ran out of one of the choices. In all we spent 3 extremely long hours there including the confusion with the bills and credit card mix-ups. In Europe this might not be lengthy but in this case it turned unbearable. Nick was the only saving grace as we probably have left early on. We will not be back however.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good food and service. They aim to please.We went with another couple each of us ordered something different and each of us was pleased.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Satisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a reservation for 7:30- walked in and we were led to an uncleared table which the waitress proceeded to clear one dish at a time. We were told that the place was understaffed and didn't mind waiting but from a former waitress point of view, the staff seemed sort of "inefficient" in terms of getting dishes onto and off the tables. They were however friendly. The appetizers were really good, New Zealand mussel special and a cauliflower soup. The entrees, on the other hand, were horrid. Steak was undercooked and surrounded by a lump of mashed potatoes and carrots that looked like ruffled potato chips and had no flavor at all. Pasta with eggplant and portobella and vegetables was WAY overcooked and swimming in oil, basically inedible besides the pieces of eggplant and portobella mushroom. Decided to cut our losses and skip dessert. Would not recommend at all. Atmosphere ok if you like rustic and very dark.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Cozy Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was a great spot tucked around a corner with sensational food and great service. The bar area in partuclar is very cozy with low ceilings, a few couches, tables and barstools. The owners are charismatic and welcoming and we look forward to coming back soon!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We arrived without a reservation at 5:30 on a cold rainy Sunday. The
restaurant was empty yet they sat us 5 feet from the door that opened directly on the cold air. I ordered a walnut gorgonzola salad; a different salad came. When I pointed that out to the waitress, she said that we were wrong. Happily, she returned from the kitchen having looked at the order pad and admitted that she was wrong.
Another appetizer - parmesan french fries - was lukewarm and soggy. I ordered a 10 oz filet mignon medium rare. I got two 5 oz pieces - one an inch thick and done right, another piece less than a half inch thick and very well done. The second piece didn't even taste like filet.
The waitress wasn't attentive at all to our water glasses . . When a meal for four - with 2 tiny glasses of port and no dessert - comes to $127 pre-tip - you hope for something better. Some of the food was fine, but when I pointed out the thin overdone piece of filet mignon, I sort of hoped she'd take it off the bill or bring out a better piece.
Very disappointing experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Den Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Fox's Den Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox's Den Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;