We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Satisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fox's Den Tavern

Fox's Den Tavern
7 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
(540) 687-4165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Satisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a reservation for 7:30- walked in and we were led to an uncleared table which the waitress proceeded to clear one dish at a time. We were told that the place was understaffed and didn't mind waiting but from a former waitress point of view, the staff seemed sort of "inefficient" in terms of getting dishes onto and off the tables. They were however friendly. The appetizers were really good, New Zealand mussel special and a cauliflower soup. The entrees, on the other hand, were horrid. Steak was undercooked and surrounded by a lump of mashed potatoes and carrots that looked like ruffled potato chips and had no flavor at all. Pasta with eggplant and portobella and vegetables was WAY overcooked and swimming in oil, basically inedible besides the pieces of eggplant and portobella mushroom. Decided to cut our losses and skip dessert. Would not recommend at all. Atmosphere ok if you like rustic and very dark.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Cozy Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was a great spot tucked around a corner with sensational food and great service. The bar area in partuclar is very cozy with low ceilings, a few couches, tables and barstools. The owners are charismatic and welcoming and we look forward to coming back soon!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We arrived without a reservation at 5:30 on a cold rainy Sunday. The
restaurant was empty yet they sat us 5 feet from the door that opened directly on the cold air. I ordered a walnut gorgonzola salad; a different salad came. When I pointed that out to the waitress, she said that we were wrong. Happily, she returned from the kitchen having looked at the order pad and admitted that she was wrong.
Another appetizer - parmesan french fries - was lukewarm and soggy. I ordered a 10 oz filet mignon medium rare. I got two 5 oz pieces - one an inch thick and done right, another piece less than a half inch thick and very well done. The second piece didn't even taste like filet.
The waitress wasn't attentive at all to our water glasses . . When a meal for four - with 2 tiny glasses of port and no dessert - comes to $127 pre-tip - you hope for something better. Some of the food was fine, but when I pointed out the thin overdone piece of filet mignon, I sort of hoped she'd take it off the bill or bring out a better piece.
Very disappointing experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I've seen spotty reviews of the place, but in the 10 or so times I've been, I've never had anything less than a very good meal. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, the staff are clever and the food is good. It's not The Inn at Little at Little Washington, but neither are it's prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tiny but generally satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My spouse took me to Fox's Den for a birthday dinner. It was our first visit to the restaurant under this ownership. Located in the "capital of Hunt Country" the restaurant is below ground under a retail building on the main street. You enter from a parking area on the side of the building. Our entrance into the restaurant was actually not promising for a restaurant of this caliber, as for the cold weather they had us come in through a side entrance that looked as though it was really a kitchen service area. But once we were greeted by the hostess things immediately perked up. The restaurant is very cozy and intimate, in the colonial style with low ceilings. The lighting was candle-type and very flattering to ladies, making it feel right for a special occasion! The dining area is split into several small rooms and there is a small bar. White cloths on the tables and cloth napkins. Food is not inexpensive but everything was very tasty, beginning with a specialty salad with walnuts and gorgonzola ($8) and a butternut squash soup ($9, could have been a touch hotter but tasted lovely). Several wines are available by the glass and there is a full bar. For entrees we had a small filet ($22, but one of the best I've had recently) and a lemon chicken (small serving but excellent flavor). Side dishes included zucchini cooked just right, with au gratin potatoes for me and mashed for the spouse. (We saw other diners enjoying nightly specials including salmon crepes and swordfish as well as a sausage and bean soup). The bread served by the slice with the meal was crusty and warm. Dessert was a dense but very chocolately and not-too-sweet chocolate mousse. Service was relaxed but attentive and professional. (However, our server did not ask if we wanted another drink from the bar or coffee with our dessert. As my spouse says, maybe she figured we'd spent enough.) Overall, an enjoyable and tasty dinner in a very nice intimate atmosphere. Under previous owners one of the tables had a sign saying that Jackie Onassis used to sit at that table. The sign is gone now but that would still be a nice table for an evening out. Note: not really a good restaurant for large groups or claustrophobes.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Den Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Fox's Den Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox's Den Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.