We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT kid/family friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxwood Winery

The Boxwood Winery
2042 Burrland Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687-8778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NOT kid/family friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Only offer dry, red wines with the exception of a Rose which I enjoyed on a warm, fall day after apple picking. Interesting about the other reviews on here because I also felt that the staff was cold and even a bit rude. Definitely NOT family friendly!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cold reception, mediocre wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The place is impressive, new and very modern, but the quality of the wine not good. Our tasting server was not helpful. Directions using Mapquest take you to the wrong place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rude - stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

They apparently recently opened to the public, and a mistake we had to be their guinea pigs.

While the wine quality was good, that was quickly turned into vinegar with their rudeness and as my companion stated "why are the women in middleburg so cold". It was something we kept experiencing in certain areas of this part of Virginia. Lots of stuck up folks around here. We left after being treated rudely and did not purchase any wine.

They need to take a class in hospitality and learn some kindness.

I suggest you Pass on by and don't stop. Too many other wineries that offer a true experience with no attitude.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Boxwood is a full service vineyard. Warm welcoming environment. Great wine tastings with an eclectic mkix of grapes. Pets welcome. Their public relations/communications effort is one of the best I have seen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and wonderful wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Beautiful, open tasting area with places to sit and enjoy a bottle with bread and cheese. Dogs welcome, the many there made the place feel festive and fun.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxwood Winery also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Boxwood Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxwood Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Boxwood Winery to your Saves list