We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop
16 E Washington St, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687-8080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 nightlife in Middleburg
Type: Wineries, Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Winery visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited the winery on a rainy afternoon. Nothing was really bad - the staff was fine/friendly, service was good, etc. - just didn't care for any of the wines! All red blends, no white, no "pure" reds. Its an interesting looking place, lots of steel and modern architecture compared to a lot of the Northern VA wineries. Just OK for me dog!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Its closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is closed now... it should be updated to reflect such. They opened at the winery, which is even worst now... horrible customer service, bad attitude, and mediocre wines.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasting Room in National Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

While traveling to National Harbor for business, we stopped at The Tasting Room here. What a great place for wine and tastings. I love this concept: load a card with an amount and then use card for tastes, half or full glasses from wines all over the world. This is a self serve concept and you taste and enjoy at your leisure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV & TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A group of 10 well traveled seniors traveled for an afternoon of tasting. For $10 you get to taste 5 wines and keep your glass. You can also purchase a very nice cheese tray which included fruit, meat and of course cheeses - which were all very nice. (You can purchase the cheese at Home Farm Store in Middleburg - which we did) Back to the wine- it is a young vineyard so they are still finding their niche. The rose was very interesting as are some of their other blends. Our server was Hannah a very nice and informative young lady who took good care of us. After our tasting we all purchased glasses or bottles of wine to continue our tasting and most of us left with boxes to enjoy at home. More shade outside would have been nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Ok wine, nice tasting bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Again, just not a fan of Boxwood. I just didn't like any of the wines they had. It's been a while so I may give it another shot, but I just remember the wines being average, and for the price, not worth it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop to your Saves list