We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop
16 E Washington St, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687-8080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 nightlife in Middleburg
Type: Wineries, Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
WV & TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A group of 10 well traveled seniors traveled for an afternoon of tasting. For $10 you get to taste 5 wines and keep your glass. You can also purchase a very nice cheese tray which included fruit, meat and of course cheeses - which were all very nice. (You can purchase the cheese at Home Farm Store in Middleburg - which we did) Back to the wine- it is a young vineyard so they are still finding their niche. The rose was very interesting as are some of their other blends. Our server was Hannah a very nice and informative young lady who took good care of us. After our tasting we all purchased glasses or bottles of wine to continue our tasting and most of us left with boxes to enjoy at home. More shade outside would have been nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Ok wine, nice tasting bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Again, just not a fan of Boxwood. I just didn't like any of the wines they had. It's been a while so I may give it another shot, but I just remember the wines being average, and for the price, not worth it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting with Our Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a special winery. Allowing dogs to accompany guests is a first for us. This along with their tasty wines gave us a very pleasant time!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too modern and impersonal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

While the wine pouring machine is a great technical piece and something to look at in awe, it is so impersonal that it actually detracts from the experience. The tasting room actually turned us off for the whole Boxwood Estate. After being to the tasting room, we had no interest in ever visiting Boxwood or purchasing their wines.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxwood Tasting Room, Wine Bar & Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.