We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Horse Tavern

Red Horse Tavern
112 W. Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687-6443
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Traditional and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Loved the atmosphere.

Brunch was fantastic... 3 course offering.

Enjoyed it. Its a little dark, but thats part of the feel of horse country!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    5
    17
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Va.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Popular spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It's always packed, great fun to sit outside and people watch. the food however, wasn't our favorite. Not terrible , just not special.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had dinner there last week. Seemed to gather a good local crowd. Food was OK, but very limited choices for vegetarians. Outside deck gave good street views. On a night where little else was open (Tuesday) at least it was open.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Had dinner here with my wife last Monday evening...the artichoke-crab dip was great as was the Navy Bean soup. I had the stuffed pork chops and a stout. Perfect meal for a cold winter night. My wife had the fish and chips. We'd come here again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phignewton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gross Even for a Dive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stopped here on our way back to NOVA, and we were quite disappointed with lack of cleanliness. Admittedly, it's a dive bar that seems to appeal to middle-aged bikers, but we thought we'd get some decent pub food for a reasonable price. However, the 2 waitresses that were serving were also eating at the bar, and one of them sneezed, wiped her nose, and went right back to whatever she was doing. Also, my wife informed me that there wasn't any paper towels in the restroom--not sure where all of the female waitresses were washing their hands . . . if at all. We will definitely not be going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Horse Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Horse Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.