We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Horse Tavern

Red Horse Tavern
118 W. Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687-6443
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Traditional and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Loved the atmosphere.

Brunch was fantastic... 3 course offering.

Enjoyed it. Its a little dark, but thats part of the feel of horse country!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Va.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Popular spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It's always packed, great fun to sit outside and people watch. the food however, wasn't our favorite. Not terrible , just not special.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MDTtravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had dinner there last week. Seemed to gather a good local crowd. Food was OK, but very limited choices for vegetarians. Outside deck gave good street views. On a night where little else was open (Tuesday) at least it was open.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Had dinner here with my wife last Monday evening...the artichoke-crab dip was great as was the Navy Bean soup. I had the stuffed pork chops and a stout. Perfect meal for a cold winter night. My wife had the fish and chips. We'd come here again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Plenzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phignewton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gross Even for a Dive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stopped here on our way back to NOVA, and we were quite disappointed with lack of cleanliness. Admittedly, it's a dive bar that seems to appeal to middle-aged bikers, but we thought we'd get some decent pub food for a reasonable price. However, the 2 waitresses that were serving were also eating at the bar, and one of them sneezed, wiped her nose, and went right back to whatever she was doing. Also, my wife informed me that there wasn't any paper towels in the restroom--not sure where all of the female waitresses were washing their hands . . . if at all. We will definitely not be going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank phignewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Horse Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing