We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picnic to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Salamander

Market Salamander
200 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
540-687-9720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $8 - $20
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Picnic to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved our sandwiches and treats that we bought for a little picnic out in horse country. They had everything you might need, including chilled wine, gourmet chips, cookies and delicious sandwiches!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delightful picnic supplier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stopping by on the spur of the moment, this shop made our picnic lunch with very fresh ingredients. Everyone was very helpful, suggesting nearby wineries and places to enjoy our lunch. Really gave you the feeling of a small town sandwich shop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very fair price, and the food was fresh. It was a market, and had a small sitting area, but you ordered at the market and they made your sandwich and brought it to your table.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We got sandwiches here to go on two consecutive days, they were that good! The Virginia Gent in particular was delicious, and comes with a small side of coleslaw and a pickle. Service was great, and this is a charming little shop.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A terrific place for a sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We've eaten at the Salamander many, many times, and it has never disappointed us. The sandwiches are very, very good, and freshly prepared. The desserts and coffee are also excellent, and the staff is very friendly and customer oriented.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Salamander also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Market Salamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Salamander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.