We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely One of the Best Meals Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406874645
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Definitely One of the Best Meals Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went for an anniversary dinner because they offer Chateaubriand and we felt that would be a great way to celebrate a special evening. The staff and chef at Goodstone Inn definitely lived up to our expectations and provided a great dining experience, as well as incredible, fresh food, prepared perfectly and plated to look gorgeous! We wanted a mix of white and red wines to pair with the courses and Steve, the sommelier was perfect in helping us find the best pairing within our price point.

For the same price as the higher-end "chains" (Mortons, Ruth's Chris, etc), you can dine here and have a MUCH better experience with much better food, more elegantly prepared. The chains tend to rush things, even if it's a lengthy dining experience. They also tend to not put as much attention to detail in their presentations. That was NOT the case with the Goodstone Inn. It was quite clear that the food here was being prepared in the best fashion possible.

We were not rushed throughout our dining experience and savored the 2+ hours it took to enjoy the evening. The tableside-prepared Chateaubriand was cooked PERFECTLY and had an incredible flavor! It was accompanied by garden fresh root veggies which were prepared so nicely and with obvious care to ensure freshness while still being al dente.

The salads we ordered were some of the best salads we've ever had; the Bib Lettuce Salad was INCREDIBLE!

French Onion soup is a favorite of mine and something I've had many times, but never with the rich, bold flavor this version offered.

For dessert, the pear crisp with home made vanilla ice cream capped off the perfect meal!

We can't wait for the next "special" evening to have a reason to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Greetings J.E.

Thank you for your fantastic pictures and generous comments about your recent visit to the Goodstone Inn and Restaurant. I can see that you have been a consistent contributor to Trip Advisor, we value your opinion with the highest regard.

The staff takes extreme pride in exceeding the expectations of our guests and we are pleased that we succeeded. The items you selected for the evening are some our most popular and all of my personal favorites.

Looking forward to seeing you the next time you are in Middleburg.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    80
    15
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal in fantastic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everything was "large"...the house, cottages and grounds, the swimming pool setting, the sunny, windowed dining room, the food so flavorful and beautifully prepared and served, the wine selection and the whole experience. The four of us truly enjoyed a leisurely, quiet late November lunch in this most elegant setting an hour from the Potomac through the rolling hills of horse country. It was fairly expensive ($250 plus tip) but, we all agreed, well worth it. This is truly a prime spot for a special occasion. We felt well-treated and royally fed. We had delicious lobster bisque and salad "first plates" and 2 different steak options...all superb, melt-in-your-mouth tender and perfectly cooked and presented.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Karen P.

Thank you for your nice comments about your recent lunch at the Goodstone Inn. As you mentioned even though we are close Washington D.C. within a short drive it is an escape to a beautiful stress free environment.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and the ambience. The staff and I encourage you and your friends to visit us all times of the year, as our farm to table menu adjusts seasonally to feature the best ingredients available.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Go for the appetizers and skip the entrees!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our appetizers were very good however the entrees that everyone in my group ordered were not good. The ambiance is like that of a Swiss chalet--- high ceilings and beams and rustic. Not a romantic place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear AlexaR,

I was sorry to see the we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to the Goodstone Inn Restaurant. Your comments on the ambience of the dining room were not typical of what we normally hear, most guests love the setting and the quaintness of the room.

The quality of our food and service should always be of the highest and finest standards, not having the entrees match your satisfaction with the appetizers is not acceptable to us.

I would like to hear how we could improve on your recent experience and hope you will contact me.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Reservations for my birthday celebration were made in advance. When we arrived there were multiple cocktail tables with guests at them so we sat at the bar. After waiting for a while someone asked if we had been taken care of, we stated no and mentioned someone would be right out to help us. Still a few minutes go by until the bartender, who we assume was the manager came out to take care off us. Friendly but not like overwhelmingly wanted to greet and wow us from the beginning we order a half bottle of wine and glass of wine. After sitting for a while we decide to go in the dining room for our dinner reservation. Once seated, again had to wait for someone to come by the table to ask about beverage/food orders. To keep this short, we did the pre-fixe menu to include the chateaubriand. Food was excellent, wine selections for a small property great, and service was lacking. Seemed as though many tables this evening where there to celebrate special occasions, but overall the small details and attentiveness were not there for the entire evening, especially when including tip, the meal was over $300 for two! If the food wasn't as good as it was, most likely would not go back, but it was so good that even though the service was no where near where it should be for the price and small size(14 tables) we will still go back. Even on what I would assume was a slow night, 9 tables seated in a short time, there was only one server and the manager, both whom were taking orders and serving tables. Not sure if this is the norm but if they want to continue to have guests come back, service needs to be a lot more attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hidden Restaurant with Good Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is in a beautiful setting atop a hill, and I only wish I could have seen it during the day. The food was delicious and they have great options to make the menu either prix fixe or a la carte. The prixe fixe option is a GREAT value, and the food is great. I really enjoyed the pasta and lamb.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.