We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406874645
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The surroundings of the restaurant were absolutely beautiful. The restaurant had a nice cozy feeling to it. We choose the prix-fix and liked most of it. We enjoyed the mushroom crepe (which was very good), chateaubriand, the veal and the salads were okay. The mushroom stuffed with crab for the appetizer did not have much taste to it. We were greatly disappointed with the soufflé. It was very bland and I had to add a lot of sauce to it to make it better. Overall, the food was good but if we come back would probably go with the a la cart menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    18
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An excellent Special Occaision Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife took me here for my birthday and it was a wonderful experience. We had the first seating right when it opened in the mid-week so we had the room to ourselves. Needless to say, service was impeccable and attentive yet relaxed enough we were able to discuss the inn and environs with our servor. The food was also great, definately living up to expectations. Overall a very good special occaision destination but given the price and out of the way location probably not a regular spot. If you have never been, I wholeheartedly recommend you give it a shot for your next occaision.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Goodstone Inn Restaurant was bar none, one of my best dining experiences ever. The restaurant itself is soo warm and beautifully decorated that you instantly feel at home. The surroundings are absolutely gorgeous!!
The food was so fantastic. It's very rich, but worth every bite, especially since one is not frequenting The Goodstone Inn's Restaurant. It is definitely expensive. We paid $100/person for a 4 course meal, but we are willing to pay for such a meal when the service, food, and experience are worth it. The Goodstone's restaurant is one of those places!!
Treat yourself!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food; wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The menu is wonderful and each entry, from beginning to end, is meticulously prepared. The ambiance is perfectly attuned to the location in the rolling Virginia countryside. Service is impeccable. An absolute 'must' if you are staying anywhere near Middleburg, Virginia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Carve Out a Piece of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Taking a break from the arduous daily grind can be twice as rewarding when you combine it with the charm of a quaint town like Middleburg and the pampering rural elegance of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant.

We took a ride to the historic Middleburg about 90 minutes outside Washington, DC and chose to brunch at this magnificent establishment set aloft some of the most enthralling farmlands in the heart of the mountains.

The elegantly-appointed lounge and bar yield the way to an inviting and meticulously-arranged dining room surrounded by tall windows and lush gardens. The Brunch menu choices were eclectic and the food was exquisite and well worth the price.

It was a beautiful experience and I'm sure we'll go back many more times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.