We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, location, and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406874645
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food, location, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a wonderful place, with a fantastic location, great atmosphere (private, quiet, luxurious), and great food. The services is exquisite. The Chef combines local produce beautifully. The wine list keeps growing and has great selections, although a few selections on the lower price end would be welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    19
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Dinner at Goodstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

At our recent stay we had dinner at the restaurant. We had Le Chateaubriand for two - prix-fixe. I was great. My husband and I enjoyed the whole experience. Great service, fantastic food and souffle for dessert. Lovely meal in a romantic location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Terrible Value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Totally overrated and a terrible value. Dinner for 3 on New Year's Eve was in excess of $750 all in. For that I could have eaten at the Inn at Little Washington and still had money for brunch elsewhere. That lobster bisque you served was appalling. Shame on you!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Middleburger,

We deeply regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience at our restaurant on New Year’s Eve. Your review came almost three months after your visit but we have looked into it. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lobster bisque. Others that evening commented favorably on its preparation, however, we recognize that food taste is a personal matter.

Regarding our prices, on New Year’s Eve, like many fine dining restaurants, we offered a five-course celebration menu featuring lobster or Beef Wellington as the main course for $145 per person. With your wine and beverages, your meal came to $584 and with tax and tip to $733. Like many restaurants, our New Year’s Eve menu is one of our most elaborate menus and is thus more expensive.

If you would consider trying us again on a non-holiday night, you may order a la carte any day of the week or select from much less expensive four-course prefix menus. In addition, on week nights, we are soon resuming our $39 three-course prefix menu.

Again, we are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your experience and we hope that you will give us another chance.



Freddy Gonzales
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very High Prices for Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staying at the Inn, we opted to eat dinner there -- the road to the Inn from Middleberg is long, narrow, and very twisty. We had a small meal credit based on our room stay. The goat cheese salad was fine and the scallops and wild salmon were excellent except for the heavy wine sauce that has been added to the scallops and their presentation was unappetizing. The creme brulee was good but over priced at $12 as was everything else on the menu -- entrees in the $50 range as were the least expensive wines. In our opinion the dinner would have been way over priced had it not been for the meal credit.

One particularly noteworthy comment was the excellent french bread, warn and crusty. Service was good.

Overall, this was by far not our most memorable meal, but by no means bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not Quite..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just realized I posted my restaurant review under their B&B.. woops

Excellent food, average service, extremely high prices, but overall a nice experience. If you do not mind spending 50/60 dollars per entree and 20/30 per appetizer than this could be the place for you. Also, the portion sizes are average. Don't get me wrong it is a very enjoyable night out, the ambiance is nothing short of amazing, but at these prices I expect better service and larger portions. I will say I think it is a step above the Ashby in Paris, VA but a step below the Inn at Little Washington.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.